Marquez wins the Malaysian MotoGP after Rossi falls from the lead in the closing stages.

The accident also cost Rossi any chance of beating Dovizioso for second in the 2018 world championship.

CLICK HERE for the new world championship standings

The race was brought forward by two hours after heavy rain delayed qualifying.

Pirro replaced the injured Lorenzo, who withdrew after Friday practice due to his injured wrist.

Stefan Bradl filled in for the injured Cal Crutchlow at LCR Honda after the British rider suffered a fractured right ankle in Australia.

Tito Rabat is still recovering from leg fractures at Silverstone and was again due to be replaced by WorldSBK rider Jordi Torres. However Torres was sidelined by a hand injury when heavy rain arrived during FP4.

Simeon had Rabat's GP17 machines.

CLICK HERE for live updates

  1. Marc Marquez ESP Repsol Honda (RC213V) 40m 32.372s
  2. Alex Rins ESP Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR) 40m 34.270s
  3. Johann Zarco FRA Monster Yamaha Tech3 (YZR-M1) 40m 34.846s
  4. Maverick Viñales ESP Movistar Yamaha (YZR-M1) 40m 37.039s
  5. Dani Pedrosa ESP Repsol Honda (RC213V) 40m 38.562s
  6. Andrea Dovizioso ITA Ducati Team (GP18) 40m 43.620s
  7. Alvaro Bautista ESP Angel Nieto Team (GP17) 40m 47.983s
  8. Jack Miller AUS Pramac Ducati (GP17) 40m 51.381s
  9. Danilo Petrucci ITA Pramac Ducati (GP18) 40m 55.293s
  10. Hafizh Syahrin MAL Monster Yamaha Tech3 (YZR-M1)* 40m 59.291s
  11. Aleix Espargaro ESP Factory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP) 41m 1.875s
  12. Franco Morbidelli ITA EG 0,0 Marc VDS (RC213V)* 41m 3.305s
  13. Stefan Bradl GER LCR Honda (RC213V) 41m 7.694s
  14. Takaaki Nakagami JPN LCR Honda (RC213V)* 41m 10.284s
  15. Bradley Smith GBR Red Bull KTM Factory (RC16) 41m 12.047s
  16. Thomas Luthi SWI EG 0,0 Marc VDS (RC213V)* 41m 14.192s
  17. Xavier Simeon ESP Reale Avintia (GP17)* 41m 16.350s
  18. Valentino Rossi ITA Movistar Yamaha (YZR-M1) 41m 30.660s
  19. Scott Redding GBR Factory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP) 41m 32.563s
    Pol Espargaro ESP Red Bull KTM Factory (RC16) DNF
    Michele Pirro ITA Ducati Team (GP18) DNF
    Karel Abraham CZE Angel Nieto Team (GP16) DNF
    Andrea Iannone ITA Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR) DNF
By Peter McLaren