The third and final day of the official 2019 Sepang MotoGP test got off to a flying start with Petrucci, Bagnaia, Miller, Dovizioso and Vinales beating the previous fastest ever two-wheel lap of the Malaysian circuit.

Petrucci later suffered a fall at turn 5, but is said to be okay.

Jorge Lorenzo, who held the old unofficial lap record, is the only race rider absent from the test, due to his recent wrist injury. However, Aprilia's Andrea Iannone looks set to miss the final day (due to his apparent jaw infection) and is replaced by test rider Bradley Smith.

Repsol Honda team-mate and reigning champion Marquez is returning from shoulder surgery in December - and was fastest on day one, before Yamaha's Vinales took over at the top on day two.

Testing takes place from 10am to 6pm.

CLICK HERE for live updates by…

  1. = Danilo Petrucci ITA Ducati Team (Desmosedici) 1m 58.239s [Lap 10/32]
  2. = Francesco Bagnaia ITA Pramac Ducati (Desmosedici)* 1m 58.302s +0.063s [11/21]
  3. = Jack Miller AUS Pramac Ducati (Desmosedici) 1m 58.366s +0.127s [12/30]
  4. = Andrea Dovizioso ITA Ducati Team (Desmosedici) 1m 58.538s +0.299s [11/21]
  5. = Maverick Viñales ESP Monster Yamaha (YZR-M1) 1m 58.644s +0.405s [8/45]
  6. = Cal Crutchlow GBR LCR Honda (RC213V) 1m 58.780s +0.541s [17/35]
  7. = Aleix Espargaro ESP Factory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP) 1m 59.022s +0.783s [11/34]
  8. = Franco Morbidelli ITA Petronas Yamaha SRT (YZR-M1) 1m 59.141s +0.902s [8/31]
  9. = Takaaki Nakagami JPN LCR Honda (RC213V) 1m 59.148s +0.909s [21/36]
  10. = Valentino Rossi ITA Monster Yamaha (YZR-M1) 1m 59.155s +0.916s [9/36]
  11. = Marc Marquez ESP Repsol Honda (RC213V) 1m 59.170s +0.931s [4/39]
  12. = Alex Rins ESP Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR) 1m 59.180s +0.941s [14/52]
  13. = Stefan Bradl GER LCR Honda (RC213V) 1m 59.368s +1.129s [13/37]
  14. = Tito Rabat ESP Reale Avintia (Desmosedici) 1m 59.485s +1.246s [9/19]
  15. = Joan Mir SPA Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)* 1m 59.486s +1.247s [25/43]
  16. = Fabio Quartararo FRA Petronas Yamaha SRT (YZR-M1)* 1m 59.497s +1.258s [13/51]
  17. = Johann Zarco FRA Red Bull KTM Factory (RC16) 1m 59.640s +1.401s [15/39]
  18. = Pol Espargaro ESP Red Bull KTM Factory (RC16) 1m 59.751s +1.512s [14/41]
  19. = Miguel Oliveira POR Red Bull KTM Tech3 (RC16)* 1m 59.949s +1.710s [9/38]
  20. = Karel Abraham CZE Reale Avintia (Desmosedici) 2m 0.378s +2.139s [22/36]
  21. = Hafizh Syahrin MAL Red Bull KTM Tech3 (RC16) 2m 0.766s +2.527s [9/11]
  22. = Sylvain Guintoli FRA Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR) 2m 0.990s +2.751s [3/32]
  23. = Mika Kallio FIN Red Bull KTM Factory (RC16) 2m 1.020s +2.781s [4/27]
  24. = Yamaha Test 2 N/A Yamaha Test Rider (YZR-M1) 2m 1.243s +3.004s [3/28]
  25. = Bradley Smith GBR Factory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP) 2m 1.608s +3.369s [14/29]
  26. = Yamaha Test 1 N/A Yamaha Test Rider (YZR-M1) 2m 1.719s +3.480s [5/29]


'Test 1 Yamaha' and 'Test 2 Yamaha' are being used by Katsuyuki Nakasuga, Kohta Nozane and Jonas Folger.

^X Rider is X positions higher than previous hour.
= Rider is same position as previous hour.
˅X Rider is X positions lower than previous hour

Fastest Day 2 time:
Maverick Vinales SPA Yamaha 1m 58.897s

Fastest Day 1 time:
Marc Marquez SPA Honda 1m 59.621s

Official Sepang MotoGP records:
Best lap:
Jorge Lorenzo SPA Yamaha 2m 0.606s (2015)
Fastest race lap:
Dani Pedrosa SPA Honda 1m 59.053s (2015)

Previous unofficial Sepang MotoGP record:
Jorge Lorenzo SPA Ducati 1m 58.830s (2018 testing)


By Peter McLaren