Vinales takes pole position from the KTM of Espargaro for the San Marino MotoGP at Misano.

Espargaro followed Quartararo - who went on to claim the final front row place - to set his best time, which is the best qualifying performance by a KTM in MotoGP.

There was drama behind as Rossi and Marquez tangled on the final lap. Marquez had been following Rossi before launching a close inside pass at the fast Curvone turn, only to run wide on the exit (and would have lost the lap for exceeding track limits). 

That mistake meant Rossi closed back in on the Honda and the Italian, perhaps unhappy at the previous pass, dived inside at the Turn 14 hairpin, a move that forced both riders to sit up and back off.

Rossi and Marquez have both been summoned to appear before the Stewards Panel following the incident...

Iannone is undergoing further checks on his left shoulder in the Medical Centre and did not take part in Qualifying 1.

Zarco has a three-place grid penalty for his collision with Oliveira at Silverstone. Oliveira has a shoulder tendon injury from the incident.

CLICK HERE for live updates…

San Marino MotoGP - Full Qualifying Results
1Maverick ViñalesSPAMonster Yamaha (YZR-M1)1'32.265s9/9287k
2Pol EspargaroSPARed Bull KTM Factory (RC16)+0.295s7/7292k
3Fabio QuartararoFRAPetronas Yamaha (YZR-M1)*+0.306s3/7289k
4Franco MorbidelliITAPetronas Yamaha (YZR-M1)+0.445s3/8287k
5Marc MarquezSPARepsol Honda (RC213V)+0.477s3/9294k
6Andrea DoviziosoITADucati Team (GP19)+0.773s9/9293k
7Valentino RossiITAMonster Yamaha (YZR-M1)+0.814s3/9289k
8Johann ZarcoFRARed Bull KTM Factory (RC16)+0.858s6/6288k
9Alex RinsSPASuzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)+1.000s7/8293k
10Joan MirSPASuzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)*+1.166s2/8290k
11Takaaki NakagamiJPNLCR Honda (RC213V)+1.184s8/8288k
12Michele PirroITADucati Team (GP19)+1.196s6/7293k
 Qualifying 1:     
13Francesco BagnaiaITAPramac Ducati (GP18)*1'33.488s7/8288k
14Cal CrutchlowGBRLCR Honda (RC213V)1'33.516s7/8293k
15Aleix EspargaroSPAFactory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP)1'33.522s7/7289k
16Jack MillerAUSPramac Ducati (GP19)1'33.571s3/8293k
17Danilo PetrucciITADucati Team (GP19)1'33.63s6/8290k
18Jorge LorenzoSPARepsol Honda (RC213V)1'33.777s6/8291k
19Miguel OliveiraPORRed Bull KTM Tech3 (RC16)*1'34.162s7/8285k
20Hafizh SyahrinMALRed Bull KTM Tech3 (RC16)1'34.322s6/8290k
21Karel AbrahamCZEReale Avintia Ducati (GP18)1'34.401s3/7287k
22Tito RabatSPAReale Avintia Ducati (GP18)1'34.904s2/4290k
23Andrea IannoneITAFactory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP)No TIme0/0-

* Rookie.

Fastest Practice Time:
Fabio Quartararo FRA Yamaha 1m 32.081s

Official Misano MotoGP records:
Best lap:
Jorge Lorenzo SPA Ducati 1m 31.629s (2018)
Fastest race lap:
Andrea Dovizioso ITA Ducati 1m 32.678s (2018)

By Peter McLaren



Loading Comments...