Following Sunday's season-ending Valencia MotoGP race, riders and teams returned to the circuit to start their 2020 preparations in earnest during a two-day official test.

Moto2 champion Alex Marquez - who will join brother Marc at Repsol Honda next season - has been placed at the LCR team for this test and is on track alongside fellow class rookies Brad Binder and Iker Lecuona. 

Alex fell after just eight laps, fortunately without harm, but causing significant damage to his 2019-spec RCV. Bradl later fell at the same corner, while Smith briefly brought out the red flags to retrieve his Aprilia from the gravel trap.

Marc Marquez was next to halt the session, after a fast out-lap fall left his 2020 bike heavily damaged at Turn 13, at 1:15pm.

All factories with the exception of Aprilia have brought significant updates to try for 2020. Aprilia's new bike will not be seen until Sepang in February.

Miguel Oliveira and Takaaki Nakagami are not present, as they continue to recover from shoulder surgery, but Dani Pedrosa will be back in action as part of his KTM test riding duties.

Testing takes place from 10am to 5pm, but chilly conditions meant a quiet opening hour.

CLICK HERE for live updates…

Valencia MotoGP test times - Tuesday (3pm)
Pos RiderNatTeamTime
1=Maverick VinalesSPAMonster Yamaha (YZR-M1)1m 30.593s
2= Fabio QuartararoFRAPetronas Yamaha (YZR-M1)+0.006s
3= Franco MorbidelliITAPetronas Yamaha (YZR-M1)+0.057s
4= Marc MarquezSPARepsol Honda (RC213V)+0.105s
5= Andrea DoviziosoITADucati Team (Desmosedici)+0.265s
6= Pol EspargaroSPARed Bull KTM Factory (RC16)+0.381s
7^3 Joan MirSPASuzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)+0.426s
8˅1 Alex RinsSPASuzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)+0.447s
9˅1Jack MillerAUSPramac Ducati (Desmosedici)+0.537s
10˅1 Valentino RossiITAMonster Yamaha (YZR-M1)+0.550s
11= Danilo PetrucciITADucati Team (Desmosedici)+0.840s
12= Cal CrutchlowGBRLCR Honda (RC213V)+0.867s
13= Andrea IannoneITAFactory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP)+1.081s
14= Aleix EspargaroSPAFactory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP)+1.222s
15= Tito RabatSPAReale Avintia (Desmosedici)+1.559s
16=Iker LecuonaSPARed Bull KTM Tech3 (RC16)*+1.579s
17^5 Bradley SmithGBRAprilia Test Rider (RS-GP)+1.709s
18˅1 Michele PirroITADucati Test Rider (Desmosedici)+1.827s
19˅1 Karel AbrahamCZEReale Avintia (Desmosedici)+1.897s
20˅1 Dani PedrosaSPAKTM Test Rider (RC16)+1.990s
21˅1 Stefan BradlGERHonda Test Rider (RC213V)+2.240s
22˅1Brad BinderRSARed Bull KTM Factory (RC16)*+2.400s
23=Alex MarquezSPALCR Honda (RC213V)*+3.451s

^X Rider is X positions higher than previous hour.
= Rider is same position as previous hour.
˅X Rider is X positions lower than previous hour

Official Valencia MotoGP records:
Best lap:
Jorge Lorenzo SPA Yamaha 1m 29.401s (2016)
Fastest race lap:
Marc Marquez SPA Honda 1m 31.116s (2019)

By Peter McLaren