Quartararo returns to the top step of the podium for the first time since Jerez, and retakes the world championship lead, with victory in the Catalunya MotoGP.

Suzuki team-mates Mir and Rins made a late charge to second and third places, relegating pole starter and early leader Morbidelli to fourth as all but the GSX-RRs battled late-race tyre wear.

Rossi fell from second place, behind Quartararo, with 9 laps to go.

Dovizioso lost the world championship after being taken down by Zarco at Turn 2 on the opening lap. The Frenchman fell as he reacted to a moment for another Ducati, of Petrucci, just ahead of him - the Italian saving a big wobble after appearing to clip the back of a KTM.

The new MotoGP World Championship standings - CLICK HERE

Last weekend's winner Vinales got a shocking start and could only recover to ninth.

Crutchlow was returning to action after missing both Misano rounds following arm pump surgery and despite an ankle ligament injury on Wednesday.

HRC test rider Bradl was back in place of injured reigning world champion Marc Marquez after withdrawing from Misano due to nerve problems in his hand.

CLICK HERE for live updates…

Catalunya MotoGP, Barcelona - Race Results
1Fabio QuartararoFRAPetronas Yamaha (YZR-M1)40m 33.176s
2Joan MirSPASuzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)+0.928s
3Alex RinsSPASuzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)+1.898s
4Franco MorbidelliITAPetronas Yamaha (YZR-M1)+2.846s
5Jack MillerAUSPramac Ducati (GP20)+3.391s
6Francesco BagnaiaITAPramac Ducati (GP20)+3.518s
7Takaaki NakagamiJPNLCR Honda (RC213V)+3.671s
8Danilo PetrucciITADucati Team (GP20)+6.117s
9Maverick ViñalesSPAMonster Yamaha (YZR-M1)+13.607s
10Cal CrutchlowGBRLCR Honda (RC213V)+14.483s
11Brad BinderRSARed Bull KTM (RC16)*+14.927s
12Aleix EspargaroSPAAprilia Gresini (RS-GP)+15.647s
13Alex MarquezSPARepsol Honda (RC213V)*+17.327s
14Iker LecuonaSPARed Bull KTM Tech3 (RC16)*+27.066s
15Tito RabatSPAReale Avintia (GP19)+27.282s
16Bradley SmithGBRAprilia Gresini (RS-GP)+28.736s
17Stefan BradlGERRepsol Honda (RC213V)+32.643s
 Miguel OliveiraPORRed Bull KTM Tech3 (RC16)DNF
 Valentino RossiITAMonster Yamaha (YZR-M1)DNF
 Pol EspargaroSPARed Bull KTM (RC16)DNF
 Johann ZarcoFRAReale Avintia (GP19)DNF
 Andrea DoviziosoITADucati Team (GP20)DNF

* Rookie.

By Peter McLaren