Nakagami takes his first premier-class pole position during qualifying for the Teruel MotoGP, the second of the back-to-back Aragon rounds.

Morbidelli and last Sunday's winner Rins to join him on the front row of the grid.

Vinales is best of the title top-four in fourth place, with Quartararo sixth and championship leader Mir only 12th.

Ducati's title contender Dovizioso starts just 17th after again failing to progress beyond Qualifying 1 despite a tow from Miller, who also lost out after appearing to sacrifice his own final run to try and help the Italian. Update: Miller says he was angry about poor tyre performance on the second run.

Some riders initially lost their best laps due to yellow flags for a fall by Zarco, but these were later reinstated.

Valentino Rossi is missing his second event after last week's positive Covid test and has not been replaced.

HRC test rider Bradl is again replacing injured reigning world champion Marc Marquez.

CLICK HERE for live updates…

Teruel MotoGP, Aragon - Full Qualifying Results
1Takaaki NakagamiJPNLCR Honda (RC213V)1'46.882s7/7340k
2Franco MorbidelliITAPetronas Yamaha (YZR-M1)+0.063s7/7337k
3Alex RinsSPASuzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)+0.273s8/8341k
4Maverick ViñalesSPAMonster Yamaha (YZR-M1)+0.359s7/7340k
5Johann ZarcoFRAReale Avintia (GP19)+0.415s3/6344k
6Fabio QuartararoFRAPetronas Yamaha (YZR-M1)+0.444s7/7339k
7Cal CrutchlowGBRLCR Honda (RC213V)+0.495s7/7343k
8Miguel OliveiraPORRed Bull KTM Tech3 (RC16)+0.627s7/7339k
9Pol EspargaroSPARed Bull KTM (RC16)+0.637s6/6341k
10Alex MarquezSPARepsol Honda (RC213V)*+0.721s7/7342k
11Iker LecuonaSPARed Bull KTM Tech3 (RC16)*+0.739s3/7340k
12Joan MirSPASuzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)+0.760s7/7339k
 Qualifying 1:     
13Aleix EspargaroSPAAprilia Gresini (RS-GP)1'47.372s7/7343k
14Jack MillerAUSPramac Ducati (GP20)1'47.394s3/8347k
15Brad BinderRSARed Bull KTM (RC16)*1'47.478s7/7343k
16Stefan BradlGERRepsol Honda (RC213V)1'47.585s7/8345k
17Andrea DoviziosoITADucati Team (GP20)1'47.747s7/8347k
18Francesco BagnaiaITAPramac Ducati (GP20)1'47.759s8/8345k
19Danilo PetrucciITADucati Team (GP20)1'47.855s7/8346k
20Tito RabatSPAReale Avintia (GP19)1'48.114s8/8345k
21Bradley SmithGBRAprilia Gresini (RS-GP)1'48.402s7/8342k

* Rookie.
Official Aragon MotoGP records:
Best lap:
Marc Marquez SPA Honda1m 46.635s (2015)
Fastest race lap:
Jorge Lorenzo SPA Yamaha1m 48.120s (2015)

By Peter McLaren

Mir & Marquez Battle To Become 9th MotoGP 2020 Winner? | Teruel GP |