Francesco Bagnaia snatches a home pole position with a new lap record at the 2021 San Marino MotoGP at Misano.

Team-mate Jack Miller completed a perfect session for the Ducati Team by bumping Bagnaia's title rival Fabio Quartararo to third, the world championship leader then falling on his final lap.

Marc Marquez also crashed (for the second time today), while chasing Bagnaia. Aleix Espargaro likewise lost the front of his Aprilia, costing both a place on the second row, which will instead be formed by Pramac Ducati team-mates Jorge Martin and Johann Zarco plus Marquez's Repsol Honda team-mate Pol Espargaro.

Maverick Vinales will start his second Aprilia race from tenth while reigning champion Joan Mir had a nightmare session with some kind of technical issue on his Suzuki, then yellow flags for other accidents.

While Saturday was dry for the MotoGP class - rain drops arriving just after qualifying had finished - weather forecasts predict a high chance of rain on Sunday.

Franco Morbidelli is making a return from knee surgery for his debut at Monster Yamaha, as Vinales' full-time replacement alongside Quartararo.

Taking over Morbidelli's ex-Petronas Yamaha A-spec bike is triple MotoGP title runner-up Andrea Dovizioso, the former Ducati star also remaining at what will be a renamed RNF Racing team for 2022.

Test riders Stefan Bradl (Honda) and Michele Pirro (Ducati) are making wild-card appearances.

A two-day official test will be held next week while the second Misano round, also the final home MotoGP appearance for local legend Valentino Rossi, will take place on October 22-24.

Rossi crashed in Qualifying 1 and will start just 23rd.

San Marino MotoGP, Misano - Full Qualifying Results
1Francesco BagnaiaITADucati Team (GP21)1'31.065s7/9297k
2Jack MillerAUSDucati Team (GP21)+0.249s7/8298k
3Fabio QuartararoFRAMonster Yamaha (YZR-M1)+0.302s3/7291k
4Jorge MartinSPAPramac Ducati (GP21)*+0.598s6/9297k
5Johann ZarcoFRAPramac Ducati (GP21)+0.771s8/8299k
6Pol EspargaroSPARepsol Honda (RC213V)+0.858s8/8297k
7Marc MarquezSPARepsol Honda (RC213V)+0.870s3/5293k
8Aleix EspargaroSPAAprilia Gresini (RS-GP)+0.872s3/4295k
9Alex RinsSPASuzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)+0.952s8/8294k
10Maverick ViñalesSPAAprilia Gresini (RS-GP)+1.056s6/7296k
11Joan MirSPASuzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)+1.361s3/7290k
12Enea BastianiniITAAvintia Ducati (GP19)*+1.396s3/7293k
 Qualifying 1:     
13Takaaki NakagamiJPNLCR Honda (RC213V)1'32.21s6/8293k
14Michele PirroITADucati Team (GP21)1'32.287s7/7291k
15Luca MariniITASky VR46 Avintia Ducati (GP19)*1'32.289s7/7292k
16Franco MorbidelliITAMonster Yamaha (YZR-M1)1'32.296s3/8290k
17Brad BinderRSARed Bull KTM (RC16)1'32.427s6/6293k
18Stefan BradlGERHRC (RC213V)1'32.439s6/8291k
19Alex MarquezSPALCR Honda (RC213V)1'32.476s6/8298k
20Iker LecuonaSPAKTM Tech3 (RC16)1'32.481s8/8292k
21Miguel OliveiraPORRed Bull KTM (RC16)1'32.821s3/8293k
22Danilo PetrucciITAKTM Tech3 (RC16)1'32.891s8/8290k
23Valentino RossiITAPetronas Yamaha (YZR-M1)1'32.967s2/6287k
24Andrea DoviziosoITAPetronas Yamaha (YZR-M1)1'33.098s8/8288k

* Rookie
Fastest Practice time:
Francesco Bagnaia ITA Ducati 1m 31.936s (FP3)
Official Misano MotoGP records:
Best lap:
Maverick Vinales SPA Yamaha 1m 31.007s (2020)
Fastest race lap:
Francesco Bagnaia ITA Ducati 1m 32.319s(2020)

By Peter McLaren