Peter Hickman had the upper hand again at Dundrod as the Smiths BMW rider topped the times in three classes, setting a new qualifying record to claim provisional pole in the Superbike class at the MCE Ulster Grand Prix.

Hickman lapped at 133.560mph to edge out Manx rider Dan Kneen by half-a-second, who impressed on the Tyco BMW. Kneen has been drafted into the team as a replacement for the injured Ian Hutchinson.

Bruce Anstey was third fastest on the Padgetts Honda RC213V-S at 132.948mph, 0.9s behind Hickman, with Conor Cummins completing the top four on the Padgetts Honda Fireblade (132.651mph).

William Dunlop became the first rider ever to breach the 200mph barrier at Dundrod as he topped 200.4mph on the Temple Golf Club Yamaha R1. Dunlop, who is nursing a wrist injury, was fifth fastest ahead of his brother Michael, who lapped at 132.369mph on the Bennetts Suzuki.

The decisive Superpole qualifier is still to come on Saturday to determine the final grid positions for the Superbike races.

In the Superstock class, Hickman’s 132.334mph lap was enough to secure pole from Dean Harrison on the silicone Engineering Kawasaki, who lapped at 132.236mph. Kneen was third fastest, a few seconds behind, with Jamie Coward on the Radcliffe’s BMW in fourth.

It was Hickman who also had the advantage in the Supersport session on the Trooper Beer Smiths Triumph as he held off Harrison for pole, repeating his treble sweep from Wednesday in the major solo classes.

Anstey was third quickest followed by Lee Johnston, also riding a Padgetts Honda, and William and Michael Dunlop on their Yamaha R6 machines.

Superbike qualifying (combined)

1. Peter Hickman (133.560mph)

2. Dan Kneen (133.186mph)

3. Bruce Anstey (132.948mph)

4. Conor Cummins (132.651mph)

5. William Dunlop (132.606mph)

Superstock qualifying (combined)

1. Peter Hickman (132.334mph)

2. Dean Harrison (127.258mph)

3. Dan Kneen (130.732mph)

4. Jamie Coward (130.425mph)

5. Dave Johnson (130.303mph)

Supersport qualifying (combined)

1. Peter Hickman (127.333mph)

2. Dean Harrison (127.258mph)

3. Bruce Anstey (126.399mph)

4. Lee Johnston (126.370mph)

5. William Dunlop (125.995mph)


Loading Comments...