McLaren Formula 1 star Fernando Alonso will make his much-anticipated sports car racing debut this weekend when he lines up on the grid for the Rolex 24 at Daytona.

Renowned for being one of the most gruelling and testing races in global motorsport, the 24-hour race at Daytona International Speedway has welcomed many of racing’s iconic drivers through the years.

Alonso will become the latest driver to join that list this weekend, as well as taking a first step towards the endurance portion of his ‘triple crown’ goal that may see him enter the 24 Hours of Le Mans later this year.

Alonso aside, there are a number of big stories at Daytona this year. While the likes of Cadillac, Nissan, Acura and Mazda are likely to fight for top honours in the Prototype class, Ford, Ferrari, Porsche, BMW and Corvette will duel for GTLM victory, with other manufacturers including Lamborghini, Mercedes and Lexus featuring in the GTD class.

When is the Rolex 24?

The Rolex 24 race starts at 7:40pm in the UK on Saturday January 27. The race will last 24 hours, giving a finish time of 7:40pm on Sunday January 28.

How can I watch it?

For viewers in the UK, Eurosport 2 will be broadcasting the start of the race. Its coverage will start at 7:20pm on Saturday before concluding at 8:30pm.

Eurosport 2 will then broadcast the finish of the race on Sunday, with its coverage starting at 6:45pm and finishing at 8pm.

The entirety of the race will be streamed live in the UK via IMSA’s website and app. IMSA’s coverage starts at 7:30pm, and will continue until 7:40pm on Sunday, split by a 15-minute break during the night at 4:55am. Click here to visit IMSA’s website.

In the United States, Fox will be broadcasting the race across its network, splitting coverage over its main Fox channel, Fox Sports 1, Fox Sports 2 and its digital app, Fox Sports Go.

How can I watch qualifying?

Qualifying for the Rolex 24 will be streamed live in the UK via the IMSA website and app. Coverage begins at 8:45pm and concludes at 10pm.

Am I able to watch practice?

Practice for the Rolex 24 at Daytona is not scheduled to be viewable in the UK.

Weekend schedule

Thursday January 25

Free Practice 1 – 9:20am to 10:20am ET (2:20pm to 3:20pm GMT)
Free Practice 2 – 1:40pm to 2:40pm ET (6:40pm to 7:40pm GMT)
GTD Qualifying – 3:55pm to 4:10pm ET (8:55pm to 9:10pm GMT)
GTLM Qualifying – 4:20pm to 4:35pm ET (9:20pm to 9:35pm GMT)
Prototype Qualifying – 4:45pm to 5:00pm ET (9:45pm to 10:00pm GMT)
Free Practice 3 – 6:30pm to 8:00pm ET (11:30pm to 1:00am GMT)

Friday January 26

Free Practice 4 – 9:40am to 10:40am ET (2:40pm to 3:40pm GMT)

Saturday January 27

Rolex 24 at Daytona race start – 2:40pm ET (7:40pm GMT)

Sunday January 28

Rolex 24 at Daytona finish – 2:40pm ET (7:40pm GMT)

Who is Fernando Alonso racing for?

Fernando Alonso will be racing for United Autosports in the Rolex 24. He will be driving the #23 Ligier JS P217 car alongside Lando Norris and Phil Hanson, taking part in the Prototype class.

You can read our complete run-down of everything you need to know about the Rolex 24 at Daytona by clicking here.

Comments

Loading Comments...