The organisers of the Intercontinental Rally Challenge have confirmed that following post-event scrutineering at the Belgium Ypres Rally, the stewards elected to disqualify two of the Mitsubishi Lancer Evo 9s that were in the top eight of the IRC classification at the end of the rally.

Consequently, both Larry Cols - who was third - and Bob Colsoul - who was eighth - have been stripped of their results.

"The reason for the disqualification was technical non-conformity, as the bodyshell of their Mitsubishi Lancer Evo 9s did not correspond with the homologation," read a statement to the media.

"Specifically, some reinforcement bars found in the side of the door on the road car were missing on their rally cars.

"Cols and Colsoul have confirmed that they will not appeal the decision."

Andrea Navarra meanwhile retains the lead of the IRC drivers' standings following the decision, while Peugeot is still in front in the IRC teams' classification.

The amended top eight is as follows:

Revised result:

1. Luca Rossetti Peugeot 207 S2000 2h38m43.9s
2. Enrique Ojeda Peugeot 207 S2000 +18.6s
3. Andrea Navarra Grande Punto Abarth +2m03.9s
4. Bernd Casier Peugeot 207 S2000 +2m25.6s
5. Umberto Scandola Grande Punto Abarth +3m44.8s
6. Patrick Snijers Mitsubishi Lancer Evo 9 +5m54.5s
7. Dimitar Iliev Mitsubishi Lancer Evo 9 +8m46.5s
8. Simon Jean-Joseph Citroen C2 Super 1600 +9m46.2s