Top 15 classification after SS4 at Rally Mexico

Andreas Mikkelsen leads Sebastien Ogier at the midway point of Friday’s action at Rally Mexico while Teemu Suninen tumbles out of action on the second stage.

The Hyundai driver grabbed top spot off overnight leader Esapekka Lappi with victory on SS2, El Chocolate 1, while Suninen saw his event over prematurely with a crash on the same stage.

Sebastien Ogier moved up to second place in his Citroen following victory on SS3 and ended the short Leon street stage SS4 1.6s off Mikkelsen who claimed his second stage win of the morning.

Hyundai’s Dani Sordo holds third place, on his maiden competitive outing of 2019, with M-Sport Ford’s Elfyn Evans in fourth place.

Kris Meek leads the Toyota Gazoo Razing charge in fifth place in front of teammate Jari-Matti Latvala with overnight leader Lappi shuffled down to seventh place for Citroen.

World Rally Championship leader Ott Tanak remains off the pace in eighth place for Toyota, 28.2s off leader Mikkelsen, with title rival Thierry Neuville in ninth 21.7s behind Tanak having suffered a slow puncture on SS2.