Full race results from Phillip Island

Reigning World Supersport champion Lucas Mahias has won the shortened opening race of the 2018 season ahead of Randy Krummenacher.

After the initial race was red-flagged on lap four when Michael Canducci fell heavily at turn 11 which spilled debris on to the circuit, a nine-lap sprint was set-up for a frantic start to the 2018 season.

GRT Yamaha’s Mahias, who had been leading the first race from Kenan Sofuoglu, produced the perfect start again to charge to victory keeping clear of Krummenacher for the opening victory of the season and a perfect start to his World Supersport title defence.

As the laps ticked down Krummenacher became involved in an intense battle for second place with World Supersport debutant Sandro Cortese with the former Moto3 world champion narrowly missing out in third place at the finish line.

Federico Caricasulo ensured the top four spot were held by Yamaha bikes with fourth place for GRT Yamaha ahead of Luke Stapleford for Profile Triumph.

Raffaelle De Rosa led the MV Agusta charge in sixth place ahead of Jules Cluzel (NRT Yamaha) and Kyle Smith (Gemar Team Lorini Honda) as Thomas Gradinger (NRT Yamaha) rounded out the top ten.

After an early race issue, five-time World Supersport champion Sofuoglu faded late on to drop to 13th at the finish for Puccetti Kawasaki behind CIA Landlord Insurnace Honda’s Niki Tuuli and Kallio Racing Yamaha’s Loris Cresson.



Loading Comments...