Click here for full World Supersport race results from Aragon

Sandro Cortese has claimed his first win since in six years with his maiden victory in the World Supersport championship with a flawless performance at Aragon for Kallio Racing Yamaha.

The German rider made the switch to the World Supersport series over the winter from Moto2 and has immediately adapted to the production middleweight class with victory in just his third race.

Cortese, the 2012 Moto3 world champion, tucked in behind Jules Cluzel over the opening laps gauging his rivals' race pace before making his move into the lead on lap six. Despite an intense midrace battle with GRT Yamaha’s Federico Caricasulo the German rider bolted clear over the closing laps to grab victory by over one second ahead of the Italian who fended off a late attack from Cluzel to keep second place.

Defending World Supersport champion Lucas Mahias had to settle for fourth place over five seconds off of the winner Cortese but extends his title points lead with Randy Krummenacher tipping off on lap 3 at turn 9. The Swiss rider, who won last time out in Thailand, remounted his Bardahl Evan Bros Yamaha to fight back to 11th place at the chequered flag.

Kyle Smith led the non-Yamaha charge, with the Japanese manufacturer locking out the top four finishing spots, with the Team Lorini Honda rider edging out fellow countryman Luke Stapleford for Profile Racing Triumph for fifth place.

Sheridan Morais, racing for the injured Kenan Sofuoglu at Puccetti Kawasaki, claimed seventh place ahead of CIA Landlords Insurance Honda’s Niki Tuuli ahead of Anthony West and lead European Supersport rider Rob Hartog.

With Krummenacher 11th, Loris Cresson came home in 12th ahead of Eemli Lathi and Michael Canducci with Stefan Hill rounding the points place.

It was a disastrous race for MV Agusta with both riders exiting the race on lap 7 with Raffaelle De Rosa suffering an engine failure before Ayrton Badovini crashed out a few corners later.



Loading Comments...