Full WorldSSP race results from Phillip Island

Randy Krummenacher avoided any pit stop problems to clinch victory at the 2019 World Supersport opener at Phillip Island as his rivals faltered.

At the start of the race weekend it was confirmed a mandatory pit stop would be used for the World Supersport race due to tyre safety concerns.

The pit stop triggered drama for Krummenacher’s front-running rivals to allow him to skate clear and claim a comfortable victory.

Krummenacher’s Bardahl Evan Bros Yamaha team-mate Federico Caricasulo, who pitted one lap later than him, left his stop with the rear stand still attached to his YZF-R6 leaving his crew to sprint up pit lane to free him before continuing.

The Italian lost around six seconds which left his victory challenge in tatters having traded overtakes for the lead with Krummenacher in the opening laps.

Jules Cluzel, who was running third before the pit stop, also picked up a penalty after exiting the pits earlier than the mandatory pit time but his post-race time penalty wasn’t enough for him to lose second place to Caricasulo.

Former Moto2 rider Hector Barbera grabbed fourth place for Team Toth Yamaha ahead of Hikari Okubo (Puccetti Kawasaki) and Corentin Perolari (GMT94 Yamaha).

Peter Sebestyen secured eighth place on the CIA Landlords Insurance Honda ahead of Loris Cresson (Kallio Yamaha) and World Supersport debutant Jules Danilo (CIA Landlords Insurance Honda) who rounded out the top 10 ahead of wildcard Tom Toparis (Landbridge Transport Yamaha).

Lucas Mahias was another rider to pick up a time penalty for his pit stop to drop to 12th place as Jaimie van Sikkelerus (Racedays Honda), Glenn van Straalen (EAB Racing Kawasaki) and Ayrton Badovini (Team Pedercini Racing Kawasaki) rounded out the points places.



Loading Comments...