The British Superbike Championship may have lost title sponsor Bennetts for 2009, but the British Supersport Championship has retained the backing of Fuchs-Silkolene.

"We are thrilled to continue our title sponsorship of what proved to be an exciting and close fought championship in 2008," said Russell Kenyon, Sales and Marketing director at Fuchs Lubricants (UK) Plc. "We look forward to the forthcoming race season and our sponsorship of the British Supersport Championship."

"We are delighted that Fuchs-Silkolene has renewed their title sponsorship of the British Supersport Championship. The series is second only to BSB in terms of stature and this is reflected in the depth of the field and by the continued representation of the major motorcycle manufacturers," added BSB series director Stuart Higgs.

The 2008 British Supersport Championship was won by Glen Richards aboard a Triumph 675, giving Triumph their first major British Championship victory in over 30 years. The title win put Richards back in BSB for 2009 throwing the field wide open ahead of the new season.

Steve Plater is the first of the main contenders ahead of the new season after securing a deal to join HM Plant Honda for 2009, he had a string of podiums in 2008 so is well placed to throw down the gauntlet to his rivals.

The International opposition is going to be strong though, with South African Hudson Kennaugh set to renew on-track rivalries and gunning to go one better in 2009 on the Seton-tuned Honda.

Australian Billy McConnell makes his comeback for 2009 onboard the MAP Raceways Yamaha and he will be joined by the 2008 National Superstock 600 champion, 19 year old Lee Johnston from Northern Ireland.

Reigning champions Triumph return with a new team partner of NCT Racing and two new riders with Lee Jackson and James Westmoreland.

There are several other home-grown heroes who will want to uphold the UK honour, with James Webb lining up for Padgetts Honda, Dennis Hobbs for Centurion Racing Honda and the Gearlink Kawasaki charge coming from Ben Wilson and Chris Martin. Dan Linfoot moves to the Championship running NW200 Coca-Cola Zero colours in the Rob Mac Racing Yamaha squad.

Running along side the main class is the Fuchs-Silkolene British Supersport Cup class. 2009 will see a mix of riders graduating from the National Superstock 600 class and those with limited Supersport experience. The Supersport Cup champion is decided over 10 rounds rather than 12 allowing riders to discount their worst two scores.

All Fuchs-Silkolene British Supersport Championship races will be broadcast live on British Eurosport.