Steve Hislop completed his first-ever winning double in the British Superbike Championship, to close within 17 points of the man he defeated in each of the two 17-lap races at Oulton Park, John Reynolds.

Riding the MonsterMob Ducati, the 39-year-old Isle of Man-based Scot had been the dominant force throughout the weekend, twice bettering his own year-old lap record, at 108mph, to claim his second Dunlop Superpole of the campaign.

In each of the 17-lap races, Hislop was beaten away from the line, but by the third lap of the opener he had brushed aside the early pace-makers Sean Emmett and James Haydon to be running clear out front.

Haydon slid out on the fifth lap, and soon afterwards, Reynolds had moved ahead of his Red Bull team-mate Emmett to be running second, but he was unable to make any impact, and Hislop took the victory by a little over five seconds, despite having to slow at one point because of an overheating engine.

Hislop used his spare bike for the second race, but despite some unease with the set-up, he had powered ahead of Reynolds on the opening lap, and was powering to his third victory of the season, winning by a margin of some six seconds. Haydon, riding with an injured hand took his Virgin Mobile Aiwa Yamaha into third place, ahead of the Clarion Suzuki of John Crawford and Kawasaki's Michael Rutter.

"It was just perfect - my first winning double in the championship, but it was far from easy to achieve. In the opener, there was a real dog-fight in the early stages, then the engine overheated and for a time I was worried I might have to park-up."

"I used the spare bike for the second race, but the chassis was a little bit harsh, not really set-up fully, but I knew that John was there, so I just had to keep my head down and keep up the pressure," said a delighted Hislop who now trails Reynolds 185 to 168 in the title stakes, with Haydon third on 105 points.

Shane Byrne continued his winning clean sweep in the Privateers Cup taking his Performance House Suzuki to a comfortable double ahead of first Dave Wood and then Lee Jackson.

Paul Young took victory in the British Supersport class, just ahead of Australian Kirk McCarthy with Karl Harris in third place. Paul Young topped the podium in the Superstock race, while Ben Wilson took the honors in the Junior British Superstock class. Darren Barton won the British 250cc Championship race with Alan Green holding-off Sam Owens by just a tenth of a second to take victory in the 125cc class.

BSB Championship - Points after Round 4:

1. John REYNOLDS 185
2. Steve HISLOP 168
3. James HAYDON 105
4. John CRAWFORD 90
5. Sean EMMETT 86
6. Paul BROWN 78
7. Shane BYRNE 72
8. Michael RUTTER 63
9. Jamie ROBINSON 40
10. Lee JACKSON 37
11. Dave WOOD 28
12. Paul JONES 27
13. Nigel NOTTINGHAM 26
14. Gordon BLACKLEY 25
15. Mark BURR 16
16. Dean ELLISON 15
16. Jason DAVIS 15
18. Steve PLATER 13
19. Francis WILLIAMSON 13
20. Jamie MORLEY 9
21. Steve MARKS 7
22. Paul A JONES 2