A healthy mix of experience and 'young guns' hungry for success highlights the 31-strong rider line-up confirmed for this year's Bennetts British Superbike Championship, after the official entry list was revealed.

The HM Plant Honda team, which has powered the champion in each of the past two seasons, will see Leon Haslam taking over its leading ride, to be joined by 2006 British Supersport champion Cal Crutchlow.

Both have been on the pace in testing, but face strong opposition from the Rizla Suzuki equipe, which features 2007 'rookie of the year' Tom Sykes paired with double-Japanese Superbike champion Atsushi Watanabe. A third Suzuki, running in Relentless colours and in the hands of reigning British Supersport champion Michael Laverty, should also pose a threat.

Shane Byrne, British Superbike champion with Ducati five years ago, is back with the latest version of the Italian marque's racer, the 1098R, riding for the Airwaves team alongside Leon Camier.

Stuart Easton, another former Supersport title winner, lines up for the factory-backed MSS Discovery Kawasaki team, with Australian Billy McConnell as his team-mate, while Guy Martin, renowned for his road racing abilities, joins the Hydrex-Bike Animal Honda team alongside former MotoGP rider James Ellison, who has his elder brother Dean as a rival on the Co-ordit Yamaha.

Karl Harris, the fourth former Supersport champion on the grid, rides for Team Yamaha, while there is a wealth of experience in the Hawk Kawasaki line-up in the shape of Scott Smart and James Haydon. Michael Rutter rides for the North West 200 Ducati team, while Chris Burns will be aboard the STP MV-Agusta.

The Superbike Privateers Cup class also has a strong entry list, with Malcolm Ashley having Russian backing for his ARP Kawasaki as he takes on the likes of Tom Tunstall, Luke Quigley and Martin Jessopp.

The twelve-round Bennetts British Superbike Championship begins at Brands Hatch on Sunday 6 April.

The full entry list is as follows:

2. Leon Camier Airwaves Ducati
3. Stuart Easton MSS-Discovery Kawasaki
4. Michael Laverty Relentless Suzuki by TAS
5. Karl Harris RM Yamaha
6. James Haydon Hawk Kawasaki
7. James Ellison Hydrex-Bike Animal Honda
8. Billy McConnell MSS-Discovery Kawasaki
9. Guy Martin Hydrex-Bike Animal Honda
11. Adam Jenkinson SMT Honda
14. Atsushi Watanabe Rizla Suzuki
17. Simon Andrews Lloyds British Jentin Yamaha
21. Tom Tunstall Hardinge Ice Valley Motorsport*
22. Steve Plater AIM Yamaha
27. Tristan Palmer TENA for Men Honda
33. Michael Howarth TENA for Men Honda*
35. Cal Crutchlow HM Plant Honda
40. Martin Jessopp Riders Honda*
51. Luke Quigley PDM Racing*
53. Chris Burns STP MV Agusta
56. James Buckingham Quay Honda*
63. Steve Mercer Bob Farnham Tuning*
64. Aaron Zanotti Red Viper Honda
66. Tom Sykes Rizla Suzuki
67. Shane Byrne Airwaves Ducati
68. David Johnson PR Branson Honda
88. Scott Smart Hawk Kawasaki
91. Leon Haslam HM Plant Honda
99. Brian McCormack TAG Honda MAC Racing
111. Malcolm Ashley MAR-ARP Kawasaki*
118. Dean Ellison Co-ordit Yamaha
200. Michael Rutter North West 200 Ducati

[* denotes Privateers Cup entry]