Jason O’Halloran claims top spot during Bennetts British Superbike warm-up at Silverstone.

2022 British Superbike Silverstone (National) - Warm-up Results
1Jason O'HalloranAUSMcAMS Yamaha53.264s
2Rory SkinnerGBRFS-3 Racing Kawasaki+0.045s
3Danny BuchanGBRSYNETIQ BMW Motorrad+0.082s
4Kyle RydeGBRRICH Energy OMG Racing Yamaha+0.110s
5Bradley RayGBRRICH Energy OMG Racing Yamaha+0.130s
6Glenn IrwinGBRHonda Racing UK+0.153s
7Andrew IrwinGBRSYNETIQ BMW Motorrad+0.213s
8Lee JacksonGBRFS-3 Racing Kawasaki+0.236s
9Leon HaslamGBRVisiontrack Kawasaki+0.311s
10Tommy BridewellGBROxford Products Racing Ducati+0.312s
11Peter HickmanGBRFHO Racing BMW+0.334s
12Ryo MizunoJAPHonda Racing UK+0.420s
13Takumi TakahashiJAPHonda Racing UK+0.425s
14Danny KentGBRBuildbase Suzuki+0.435s
15Tom SykesGBRMCE Ducati+0.562s
16Luke MosseyGBRTAG Racing Honda+0.581s
17Christian IddonGBRBuildbase Suzuki+0.638s
18Dan LinfootGBRIForce BMW+0.717s
19Ryan VickersGBRFHO Racing BMW+0.727s
20Storm StaceyGBRTeam LKQ Euro Parts Kawasaki+0.880s
21Josh BrookesAUSMCE Ducati+0.914s
22Dan JonesGBRIforce BMW+0.960s
23Tom NeaveGBRHonda Racing UK+0.964s
24Bjorn EstmentSAPowerslide Catfoss Suzuki+1.044s
25Chrissy RouseGBRCrowe Performance BMW+1.290s
26Josh OwensGBRCDH Racing Kawasaki+1.493s
27Liam DelvesGBRCDH Racing Kawasaki+1.540s
28David JohnsonAUSRICH Energy OMG Racing Yamaha+1.667s
29Luke HopkinsGBRBlack Onyx Security Honda+1.757s
30Dean HarrisonGBRDAO Racing Kawasaki+1.762s
31James HillierGBRRICH Energy OMG Racing Yamaha+1.772s
32Leon JeacockGBRSpecsavers Suzuki+1.819s

Looking to bounce back following a tough opening race day for Ducati, Tommy Bridewell led during the early stages, while MCE Ducati rider and two-time series champion Josh Brookes went third fastest. 

Peter Hickman then set the first 53s lap as he took over at the front from Honda rider Takumi Takahashi. 

With warm-up just ten minutes long, a frantic session continued as the top three once again changed. 

Looking to build on his race one success, Glenn Irwin went quickest shortly before O’Halloran put his McAMS Yamaha on top. 

After an impressive race one, BMW rider Andrew Irwin joined his brother inside the top five by going fourth. 

To no one’s surprise, lap times remained extremely close at the front - O’Halloran, Rory Skinner and Danny Buchan were separated by just +0.082s with under a minute to go. 

The top three remained unchanged, while race one podium finishers Kyle Ryde and Bradley Ray moved into the top five late on. 

Official British Superbike Silverstone (National) Records

Fastest lap - Glenn Irwin GBR Honda Racing UK 52:796s (2022, Q2) 

2021 Silverstone Winners 

Race One - Glenn Irwin Honda Racing UK

Race Two - Tarran Mackenzie McAMS Yamaha

Race Three - Jason O’Halloran McAMS Yamaha

2022 Silverstone Winners

Race One -  Glenn Irwin Honda Racing UK

Glenn Irwin dominates British Superbike qualifying and race one!

Irwin produced a defensive masterclass to pip Ryde and Ray to the first Bennetts British Superbike win of the year. 

After securing the first pole of 2022 thanks to a new lap record, Irwin led into turn one from both Rich Energy OMG Yamaha riders. 

Struggling off the line was British Superbike returnee Leon Haslam, as the 2018 champion went from fifth to tenth. 

As Ray made a move on his team-mate Ryde for second, Haslam’s first race back ended early following a technical problem on lap six.


Fourth and showing the ability to keep pace with the front three was Rory Skinner - wasn’t the case for Jason O’Halloran and Christian Iddon, who were involved in a tussle for fifth that was costing the pair time to the leaders. 

Following Haslam’s early retirement, IForce BMW rider Dan Linfoot was next in encountering issues as he slowed on the exit of turn one. 

With 13 laps gone Skinner began losing touch with the front three as Irwin kept up a searingly hot pace. 

Repaying the favour from lap three, Ryde then made his way back past Ray for second place on lap 19.

Although the National circuit makes up just a quarter of the traditional Silverstone layout’s length, tyre preservation remained key in the battle for victory. 

The top three continued to stretch clear as Skinner became the first to significantly struggle with grip. 

While Irwin remained the leader, fellow Honda Racing UK rider Ryo Mizuno retired with two laps to go. 

Despite intense pressure from both Ryde and Ray over the final two laps, Irwin held strong for the first win of the 2022. 

Sunday Schedule - 2022 British Superbike Silverstone (National) 

13:30 - British Superbike Race Two 

16:30 - British Superbike Race Three