Glenn Irwin does the double at Silverstone after late drama during race two of the 2022 British Superbike season opener. 

2022 British Superbike Silverstone (National) - Race (2) Results
1Glenn IrwinGBRHonda Racing UK30 Laps
2Kyle RydeGBRRICH Energy OMG Racing Yamaha+0.079s
3Rory SkinnerGBRFS-3 Racing Kawasaki+0.994s
4Lee JacksonGBRFS-3 Racing Kawasaki+4.032s
5Andrew IrwinGBRSYNETIQ BMW Motorrad+4.321s
6Jason O'HalloranAUSMcAMS Yamaha+4.979s
7Peter HickmanGBRFHO Racing BMW+7.798s
8Tommy BridewellGBROxford Products Racing Ducati+8.586s
9Danny BuchanGBRSYNETIQ BMW Motorrad+8.642s
10Christian IddonGBRBuildbase Suzuki+10.553s
11Josh BrookesAUSMCE Ducati+11.748s
12Dan LinfootGBRIForce BMW+11.793s
13Ryan VickersGBRFHO Racing BMW+12.130s
14Tom NeaveGBRHonda Racing UK+13.346s
15Leon HaslamGBRVisiontrack Kawasaki+15.564s
16Takumi TakahashiJAPHonda Racing UK+15.888s
17Ryo MizunoJAPHonda Racing UK+16.159s
18Danny KentGBRBuildbase Suzuki+16.769s
19David JohnsonAUSRICH Energy OMG Racing Yamaha+38.336s
20Luke HopkinsGBRBlack Onyx Security Honda+39.259s
21James HillierGBRRICH Energy OMG Racing Yamaha+39.592s
22Leon JeacockGBRSpecsavers Suzuki+42.438s
23Liam DelvesGBRCDH Racing Kawasaki+52.742s
24Bradley RayGBRRICH Energy OMG Racing YamahaDNF
25Dean HarrisonGBRDAO Racing KawasakiDNF
26Bjorn EstmentSAPowerslide Catfoss SuzukiDNF
27Josh OwensGBRCDH Racing KawasakiDNF
28Tom SykesGBRMCE DucatiDNF
29Chrissy RouseGBRCrowe Performance BMWDNF
30Dan JonesGBRIforce BMWDNF
31Luke MosseyGBRTAG Racing HondaDNF
32Storm StaceyGBRTeam LKQ Euro Parts KawasakiDNF

After setting the fastest lap in race one, Kyle Ryde started from pole ahead of team-mate Bradley Ray and second-year rider Rory Skinner. 

Race one winner Irwin headed the second row from Lee Jackson and Jason O’Halloran, who finished fifth during the season opener. 

As opposed to the 24 lap distance in race one, race two had a further six laps, making tyre preservation key. 

As Ray took the lead from Ryde into turn one, a big accident followed at turn three when Luke Mossey, Dan Jones and Storm Stacey collided. 

Stacey appeared to get his braking wrong which led to Mossey and Jones having nowhere to go. All three riders were out of the race. 

Ryde, who also lost second place to Rory Skinner, regained that position on the approach to turn three, while Glenn Irwin stayed fourth. 

There was another incident on lap four as Tom Sykes highsided before Chrissy Rouse ran into the back of his Ducati machine, resulting in both riders failing to finish. Sykes was then slow getting back to his feet which meant the Safety Car was deployed for the first time this season. 

The Safety Car returned to pit lane after two laps as Andrea Irwin took advantage of his brilliant restart to go from sixth to third. 

Irwin then made a big mistake on lap nine which allowed Skinner to regain third spot. 

With Ray pushing on the pace out front, a gap between Skinner and A. Irwin began to open up. 

Looking to recover from a poor race one, Josh Brookes was up to 11th place during the early stages before losing positions to Leon Haslam and Danny Buchan. 

A third incident took place on lap 11 as Bjorn Estment and Dean Harrison made contact at turn one. 

After losing fourth to his brother Glenn, Andrew Irwin ran wide again at turn four which allowed O’Halloran to come through. 

Although the pace set by Ray was proving very hot, just like the bright sunshine around Silverstone, G. Irwin began to close in on the leading trio with 16 laps gone. 

With exceptional traction being a big reason for Irwin’s race one win, the Northern Irishman seemed to have the same advantage over his rivals as he went around the outside of Skinner at turn one. 

Official British Superbike Silverstone (National) Records

Fastest lap - Glenn Irwin GBR Honda Racing UK 52:796s (2022, Q2) 

2021 Silverstone Winners 

Race One - Glenn Irwin Honda Racing UK

Race Two - Tarran Mackenzie McAMS Yamaha

Race Three - Jason O’Halloran McAMS Yamaha

2022 Silverstone Winners

Race One -  Glenn Irwin Honda Racing UK

Bradley Ray crashes out from a sure-fire win

Eager to make it two from two, Irwin then got ahead of Ryde going into turn four with ten laps remaining. The Honda rider, who was losing ground to Ray, was granted his wish of leading the race as the Yamaha rider dramatically crashed out at turn five. 

Ray had gradually been building his lead, whether it be over Ryde or Irwin.

The former Suzuki and BMW rider did everything in his power to save the front end but was ultimately unable to do so.

Back at the front, Irwin and Ryde headed onto the final lap in a identical situation as race one. 

However, unlike said race Ryde managed to make an attempt at the lead after getting great drive out of turn four, but as Irwin closed the door at Luffield, the two made contact. 

Both riders remained aboard their machines as Irwin got the drive onto the start-finish straight.  

Sunday Schedule - 2022 British Superbike Silverstone (National) 

16:30 - British Superbike Race Three