Tarran Mackenzie regains the British Superbike championship lead after winning a dry second race at Donington Park.

After a brilliant launch by the top two, it was Storm Stacey who got the better of pole sitter Gino Rea by the end of lap one.

Rea had a look at getting back into the lead at Redgate, however, the race one winner was unable to do so on the brakes.

Rea, who momentarily lost P2 to Kyle Ryde, wasted no time in regaining that spot off the BMW rider before taking the lead from Stacey on lap three. That began a fall down the order for Stacey as he was relegated to seventh by the end of lap five.

As showdown riders Christian Iddon and Danny Buchan edged their way towards the front, it was Buchan who managed to get through on Rea first.

Iddon then put his Visiontrack Ducati into second, while joint championship leader Mackenzie was running eighth - six places better off than Jason O’Halloran. 

As Stacey continued to drop down the order, the Kawasaki rider’s race was then brought to a premature end after suffering from a mechanical issue. 

At mid-race distance Mackenzie had improved a further two spots into sixth, as did O’Halloran who was 12th. 

Another change for the lead came on lap 11 as Iddon got ahead of Buchan at the Melbourne Loop, a move that was replicated by Mackenzie on Josh Brookes for fourth.

Mackenzie immediately pulled clear of the eight rider group and instead began catching the front three of Iddon, Buchan and Rea.

Peter Hickman retired on lap 13 after his chain came off along the back straight. 

At the front, the three leaders became four as Mackenzie closed down an eight tenth gap in just one lap. At the beginning of lap 15 Mackenzie got through on Rea for third at Redgate.

With the McAMS Yamaha rider looking ominous in third, Iddon and Buchan exchanged the lead four times in two laps. 

The last of those overtakes saw Buchan retake the lead, while Mackenzie also got through on Iddon for second. 

Mackenzie then took the lead for the first time at the Foggy Esses before putting in brilliant last lap to hold off the SYNETIQ BMW man. 

2021 British Superbike, Donington Park - Race Results (2)
1Tarran MackenzieGBRMcAMS Ymaha20 Laps
2Danny BuchanGBRSYNETIQ BMW Motorrad+0.833s
3Christian IddonGBRVisiontrack Ducati+1.400s
4Gine ReaGBRBuildbase Suzuki+2.031s
5Lee JacksonGBRFS-3 Racing Kawasaki+3.658s
6Kyle RydeGBRRICH Energy OMG Racing BMW+4.214s
7Tommy BridewellGBRMoto Rapido Ducati+4.546s
8Andrew IrwinGBRSYNETIQ BMW Motorrad+7.163s
9Jason O'HalloranAUSMcAMS Ymaha+7.928s
10Glenn IrwinGBRHonda Racing UK+8.678s
11Josh BrookesAUSVisiontrack Ducati+9.441s
12Bradley RayGBRRICH Energy OMG Racing BMW+13.073s
13Naomichi UramotoJAPBuildbase Suzuki+26.797s
14Ryo MizunoJAPHonda Racing UK+26.912s
15Ryan VickersGBRRAF Kawasaki+33.929s
16Bjorn EstmentSACatfoss Racing Suzuki+35.245s
17Joe Sheldon-ShawGBRCDH Racing Kawasaki+45.270s
18Takumi TakahashiJAPHonda Racing UK+46.387s
19Luke HopkinsGBRHopkins Honda Racing+1'08.369s
20Brian McCormackIRLFHO Racing BMW+1'31.002s
21Dean HarrisonGBRSilicone Racing KawasakiDNF
22Jesse TraylerGBRNP BMWDNF
23Josh OwensGBRCDH Racing KawasakiDNF
24Peter HickmanGBRFHO Racing BMWDNF
25Joe FrancisGBRFHO Racing BMWDNF
26Rory SkinnerGBRFS-3 Racing KawasakiDNF
27Storm StaceyGBRTeam LKQ KawasakiDNF