Gino Rea claimed his first British Superbike win of the season in treacherous conditions at Donington Park, while Showdown contenders Danny Buchan, Josh Brookes and Tommy Bridewell all crashed out.

As the lights went out, Buildbase Suzuki’s Rea made a great start from pole to lead into turn one.

It wasn’t long before the extremely wet track caught riders out as the second Buildbase machine of BSB debutant Naomichi Uramoto went down on lap one. Dean Harrison joined the Japanese rider in crashing on the very next lap.

Out front, Danny Buchan had taken the lead away from Rea, however, the 32 year-old regained top spot after Buchan ran wide at Redgate (turn one). 

On lap three, Peter Hickman took the tally of crashes to three, moments before Glenn Irwin made it four. The Honda rider was caught out at the ‘Foggy Esses’ - same corner as Uramoto and Harrison.

In what was quickly becoming the most drama-filled race of the season, showdown contenders Josh Brookes and Tommy Bridewell both crashed out on lap six. 

With both Buchan and Brookes out of contention, Rea’s lead at the front grew to over seven seconds, while Storm Stacey got past Lee Jackson and Christian Iddon for P2. 

But just as the youngster looked on course for a maiden BSB podium, Stacey crashed at turn one after losing the front. 

Kyle Ryde, who was the fastest man on track in the closing stages joined Jackson and Iddon in the podium battle. 

The first move between the trio was made by Iddon as he got past Jackson at the Melbourne Loop for second. Ryde then followed the Visiontrack Ducati rider through immediately. 

Ryde’s next move came just a few corners later as he got ahead of Iddon at the same Melbourne Loop. The top four of Rea, Ryde, Iddon and Jackson remained unchanged through to the chequered flag.

2021 British Superbike, Donington Park - Race Results (1)
1Gine ReaGBRBuildbase Suzuki16 Laps
2Kyle RydeGBRRICH Energy OMG Racing BMW+2.016s
3Christian IddonGBRVisiontrack Ducati+3.405s
4Lee JacksonGBRFS-3 Racing Kawasaki+3.518s
5Jason O'HalloranAUSMcAMS Ymaha+44.703s
6Joe FrancisGBRFHO Racing BMW+52.859s
7Tarran MackenzieGBRMcAMS Ymaha+57.782s
8Ryan VickersGBRRAF Kawasaki+1'02.000s
9Bradley RayGBRRICH Energy OMG Racing BMW+1'06.234s
10Rory SkinnerGBRFS-3 Racing Kawasaki+1'12.423s
11Bjorn EstmentSACatfoss Racing Suzuki+1'44.468s
12Andrew IrwinGBRSYNETIQ BMW Motorrad+1 Lap
13Takumi TakahashiJAPHonda Racing UK+1 Lap
14Josh OwensGBRCDH Racing Kawasaki+1 Lap
15Brian McCormackIRLFHO Racing BMW+2 Laps
16Ryo MizunoJAPHonda Racing UKDNF
17Josh BrookesAUSVisiontrack DucatiDNF
18Danny BuchanGBRSYNETIQ BMW MotorradDNF
19Tommy BridewellGBRMoto Rapido DucatiDNF
20Storm StaceyGBRTeam LKQ KawasakiDNF
21Glenn IrwinGBRHonda Racing UKDNF
22Peter HickmanGBRFHO Racing BMWDNF
23Luke HopkinsGBRHopkins Honda RacingDNF
24Dean HarrisonGBRSilicone Racing KawasakiDNF
25Naomichi UramotoJAPBuildbase SuzukiDNF