Since 2014, Formula 1 stewards award penalties alongside penalty points that accrue on a driver’s superlicence.

Should a driver obtain 12 penalty points in a 12-month period then they will be handed a race ban.

Here's the current situation in F1…

Lando Norris - 10 

Norris is just two points away from a race ban after picking up two more at the Austrian Grand Prix. The McLaren driver was handed a five-second penalty and two additional penalty points for forcing Sergio Perez off the track when the pair battled for second place. 

The good news for Norris is that the two points he picked up at the 2020 Styrian Grand Prix will be wiped off by the time F1 heads to Silverstone. 

Still, he will have to be careful as he won’t see any of his other points removed until November.

Sergio Perez - 8

Perez doubled his tally at the Red Bull Ring as he was handed four points for two separate incidents with Charles Leclerc.

Nicholas Latifi - 6 

Latifi has picked up six penalty points in 2021. He obtained three for not entering pit lane as instructed during the Safety cCr period at the Azerbaijan Grand Prix, while he got three more at the Austrian GP for failing to slow down under double-waved yellow flags.

Sebastian Vettel - 6

The four-time world champion also has six to his name. Five were during his first weekend for Aston Martin in Bahrain, while he got one for impeding Alonso in Austria. 

Kimi Raikkonen - 6

Raikkonen is the third driver with six points on his licence. The 2007 world champion will get one of those points removed in July - the one he picked up at the 2020 Hungarian Grand Prix for his car being out of position on the grid.

George Russell - 6

Russell is the final driver to have six points on his superlicence. On both occasions, the Williams driver was handed three points for failing to slow down under double-waved yellow flags in qualifying at the 2020 British and Turkish Grands Prix.

Nikita Mazepin - 5

He’s only been in F1 nine races but Mazepin has picked up five penalty points. He got one at Portimao for impeding, and not respecting blue flags when Perez was behind him. He blocked Norris in qualifying in Barcelona, and like Latifi, got three for not slowing down under double-waved yellow flags.

Antonio Giovinazzi - 5

The Italian also has five points on his superlicence. Giovinazzi was handed a single penalty point at the British GP last year for failing to slow down under the Safety Car. He will see that point removed in early August.

Lance Stroll - 4

Stroll has accrued four penalty points - three at the Portuguese GP last year after causing a collision with Norris, then an additional one due to a track limits violation. 

Yuki Tsunoda - 4

Tsunoda also has four. He picked up three across the two races at the Red Bull Ring - two for cutting the pit entry line twice and one for impeding Valtteri Bottas in qualifying.

Charles Leclerc - 3

Leclerc picked up two for his involvement in the collision on the opening lap of the Sakhir Grand Prix, involving Perez and Max Verstappen. His other point will be chalked off next week, obtaining it at the Styrian Grand Prix last year for impeding Daniil Kvyat.

Valtteri Bottas - 2

Bottas picked up two points for his spin in the pit lane at the 2021 Styrian GP.

Lewis Hamilton - 2

The seven-time champion had 10 points at one stage in 2020 until the FIA decided to retract the penalty points it awarded for his illegal practice starts at the Russian Grand Prix. Six penalty points have expired since. 

The two remaining on his superlicence is for entering the pit lane when it was closed at the 2020 Italian Grand Prix.

Esteban Ocon - 1

Ocon has one for impeding Russell during qualifying at the 70th Anniversary Grand Prix.

Daniel Ricciardo - 1

Just the one for Ricciardo, picked up at the 2020 Russian Grand Prix.

Carlos Sainz - 1

Sainz has one after blocking Perez in qualifying at the Turkish GP last year.

Pierre Gasly - 1

Gasly was out of position at the start of the 2021 Spanish Grand Prix. 

Max Verstappen, Mick Schumacher, Fernando Alonso - 0 

Verstappen obtained eight penalty points during his maiden year in F1 back in 2015. Now, he has zero - a sign of his progression and maturity. 

Schumacher and Alonso have yet to feel the wrath of the stewards in 2021.