Mark Webber had the perfect start to testing at the Barcelona circuit, ending the first day of action fastest overall, with a best time of 1m 18.177s.

Webber completed 64 laps in total and was around one tenth up on the next fastest driver, BMW WilliamsF1's Juan Pablo Montoya.

Webber's Jaguar team-mate, Antonio Pizzonia though did not such have a good start. The Brazilian crashed out this morning, and although he was fine, he took no further part in the session.

"There is extensive damage to the car but nothing that cannot be repaired," said Jaguar spokesperson Nav Sidhu, to news agency Reuters. "He's fine and we are looking into why it happened."

Alexander Wurz meanwhile was third for McLaren, followed by the Toyota of Olivier Panis.

"I have switched to the 2002 race car for this week's test and it was a very good first day for us," commented the Frenchman. "We managed 75 laps, which is a reasonable amount, working again on general car set-up. We still have many things to do to continue improving, but it has been a positive start to my second test with the team."

Next up, in fifth was WilliamsF1 tester, Marc Gene, then came Jenson Button's replacement at Renault, Fernando Alonso. Alonso completed 86 laps working on suspension developments for next year and also shaking down the R202 for Romain Dumas.

Dumas, who was testing with an F1 car for the first time ended the day eleventh, on a 1m 22.298s. "Romain Dumas had his first contact with the R202 today," said Mike Gascoyne, Technical Director of the Renault F1 Team, "and he did a very professional job."

Seventh was British American Racing's Anthony Davidson, then came Nico Rosberg, Gary Paffet and Dirk Muller rounded off the top ten. Paffet was testing alongside Wurz at McLaren, while Rosberg and Muller were both in Williams-BMW's, Rosberg, around half a second up on the European Touring Car Championship ace.

Testing continues tomorrow [Wednesday].

Leading times (3 Dec) - Barcelona:

1. Mark Webber Jaguar-Cosworth 1m 18.177s 64 laps**
2. Juan Pablo Montoya Williams-BMW 1m 18.271s 58 laps**
3. Alex Wurz McLaren-Mercedes 1m 18.732s 31 laps**
4. Olivier Panis Toyota 1m 19.130s 75 laps**
5. Marc Gene Williams-BMW 1m 19.544s 29 laps**
6. Fernando Alonso Renault 1m 19.582s 86 laps**
7. Anthony Davidson BAR-Honda 1m 20.414s 92 laps*
8. Nico Rosberg Williams-BMW 1m 21.058s 36 laps**
9. Gary Paffet McLaren-Mercedes 1m 21.484s 14 laps**
10. Dirk Muller Williams-BMW 1m 21.584s 44 laps**
11. Romain Dumas Renault 1m 22.298s 48 laps**

Antonio Pizzonia Jaguar-Cosworth No time Crashed**

* Bridgestone tyres
** Michelin tyres

Weather / Track Conditions: Dry and sunny, although the track was rather dusty.