Red Bull has confirmed its Junior Team line-up for the 2020 season, adding 14-year-old Jak Crawford to its academy ranks.

Red Bull’s Junior Team has been instrumental in launching the careers of numerous Formula 1 drivers, including current Red Bull Racing racers Max Verstappen and Alexander Albon.

Leading Red Bull’s junior ranks in 2020 will be Juri Vips and Yuki Tsunoda, both of whom graduate from FIA Formula 3 and move into Super Formula and Formula 2 respectively.

Liam Lawson will remain in F3 for the 2020 season, signing for Hitech, as well as defending his Toyota Racing Series title in his native New Zealand over the winter.

Lawson will be joined in F3 by Jack Doohan and Dennis Hauger. Hauger won the Italian Formula 4 title last year with 12 wins in 21 races, and will race alongside Lawson at Hitech. Doohan has linked up with HWA Racelab for his first season in FIA F3.

British karting star Jonny Edgar remains part of Red Bull’s junior ranks, embarking on a dual F4 campaign in both Germany and Italy with Van Amersfoort Racing.

Edgar will be joined in both series by Crawford, who is the only newcomer to the Red Bull Junior Team for the 2020 season.

Crawford finished as the top rookie in the NACAM Formula 4 series last year, finishing second overall with six wins and 14 podiums to his name. He will race with Edgar at Van Amersfoort Racing, the team that gave Verstappen his start in single-seaters prior to his arrival in F1.

Lucas Auer and Harry Thompson have not been retained by the Red Bull Junior Team for 2020.



Loading Comments...