After returning to the F1 schedule for the first time since 2013 last year, Istanbul Park was originally added to the 2021 calendar in place of the Canadian Grand Prix in June, but those plans had to be shelved when the UK added Turkey to its red travel list.

F1 instead brought forward the French Grand Prix and added a second race in Austria to compensate for the loss of the round in Canada.

On Friday, ahead of this weekend’s Styrian Grand Prix at the Red Bull Ring, F1 confirmed that Istanbul would return to the 2021 calendar for the second time.

It will take the place of Singapore - which was cancelled due to tough coronavirus restrictions in the city state - to form the middle part of a triple-header with the Russian and Japanese grands prix as the 16th round of the world championship.

“We are delighted to be coming back to Turkey to Intercity Istanbul Park circuit,” said F1 CEO Stefano Domenicali. “We hope to see another fantastic race again in one of the best tracks in the world.

“We want to thank the Intercity Istanbul Park management and Mr. Vural Ak for his personal efforts to make this event to happen. We have shown that we can continue to adapt and there is huge interest in our sport and the hope from many locations to have a Grand Prix.

“We have had very good conversations with all the other promoters since the start of the year and continue to work closely with them during this period.”

F1 is determined to fulfil its planned 23-round calendar, though doubts remain over the Japanese GP and races in South America.

 Updated 2021 Formula 1 Race Calendar
1Bahrain GP (Sakhir)March 28
2Emilia Romagna GP (Imola)April 18
3Portuguese GP (Portimao)May 2
4Spanish GP (Barcelona)May 9
5Monaco GP (Monte Carlo)May 23
6Azerbaijan GP (Baku)June 6
7French GP (Paul Ricard)June 20
8Styrian GP (Spielberg)June 27
9Austrian GP (Spielberg)July 4
10British GP (Silverstone)July 18
11Hungarian GP (Budapest)August 1
12Belgian GP (Spa)August 29
13Dutch GP (Zandvoort)September 5
14Italian GP (Monza)September 12
15Russian GP (Sochi)September 26
16Turkish GP (Istanbul)October 3
17Japanese GP (Suzuka)October 10
18United States GP (Austin)October 24
19Mexican GP (Mexico City)October 31
20Sao Paulo GP (Interlagos)November 7
21Australian GP (Melbourne)November 21
22Saudi Arabian GP (Jeddah)December 5
23Abu Dhabi GP (Yas Marina)December 12