2022 F1 Japanese Grand Prix - FREE PRACTICE RESULTS (2)
Pos Driver Nat.Team Time
1George RussellGBRMercedes AMG Petronas Formula One Team1m41.935s
2Lewis HamiltonGBRMercedes AMG Petronas Formula One Team1m42.170s
3Max VerstappenNEDOracle Red Bull Racing1m42.786s
4Sergio PerezMEXOracle Red Bull Racing1m42.834s
5Kevin MagnussenDENHaas F1 Team1m43.187s
6Carlos SainzESPScuderia Ferrari1m43.204s
7Fernando AlonsoESPBWT Alpine F1 Team1m43.533s
8Valtteri BottasFINAlfa Romeo F1 Team Orlen1m43.733s
9Esteban OconFRABWT Alpine F1 Team1m43.884s
10Zhou GuanyuCHNAlfa Romeo F1 Team Orlen1m44.525s
11Charles LeclercMONScuderia Ferrari1m44.709s
12Nicholas LatifiCANWilliams Racing1m44.962s
13Alex AlbonTHAWilliams Racing1m45.039s
14Yuki TsunodaJPNScuderia AlphaTauri 1m45.257s
15Sebastian VettelGERAston Martin Aramco Cognizant Formula One Team1m45.261s
16Lando NorrisGBRMcLaren F1 Team1m45.885s
17Daniel RicciardoAUSMcLaren F1 Team1m46.030s
18Lance StrollCANAston Martin Aramco Cognizant Formula One Team1m46.776s
19Pierre GaslyFRAScuderia AlphaTauri1m47.109s
20Mick Schumacher GERHaas F1 TeamNo Time Set

Mercedes led a 1-2 finish in a wet second practice at the F1 Japanese Grand Prix.

George Russell was 0.2s quicker than Lewis Hamilton, while reigning F1 champion Max Verstappen was 0.8s off the pace.

With rain forecast on Sunday, it was a busy 90-minute session at Suzuka.

Saturday is expected to be drier. 

Recent F1 Japanese GP winners

2019 - Valtteri Bottas (Mercedes)

2018 - Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes)

2017 - Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes)

2016 - Nico Rosberg (Mercedes)

2015 - Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes)

2014 - Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes)