F1 rookie Antonio Pizzonia led the way this morning in Friday's extra two hours of testing for teams signed up to the Heathrow Agreement, outpacing Brazilian GP winner, Giancarlo Fisichella by around one tenth of a second.

The session was dry throughout, and the four teams in action therefore got to complete some valuable set-up work in advance of the first official session that starts at 11.00 am [local time].

Pizzonia's best was a 1m 23.099s, and the Brazilian completed 33 laps. His Jaguar team-mate, Mark Webber, was third, the Australian around four tenths off his team-mate.

Jordan's Ralph Firman was next up then came the Renault of Jarno Trulli. Renault's also filled places, sixth and seventh, with Fernando Alonso around a second up on 'third' driver, Allan McNish.

"Basically," noted the Scot, "during this morning session, we could work in quite good weather conditions. We had just started our programme when, on turn n.9, I made a mistake and touched both the inside and outside curbs, which meant I spun and we had to cut the session short. However, we were able to get some useful information with the 20 laps I did. I think we put a good base for the rest of the weekend."

Pat Symonds, Executive Director of Engineering at Renault, added "We had a very tough test session. We lost quite a lot of time firstly with a mechanical problem on Jarno's car, which forced us to swap him to the T-car, which luckily had a race configuration.

"Allan's car also encountered a problem in the middle of the test session and so our productivity today was relatively low. Having said that, we have gathered some data on the different types of tyres and we know well in which direction to work in order to improve the set ups of our cars."

The Minardi-Cosworth's meanwhile brought up the rear, Jos Verstappen outpacing Justin Wilson and tester, Matteo Bobbi. Bobbi completed just 17 laps, the least of any one driver [the most was 45 by Alonso] and was over six seconds off the pace, with a 1m 29.433s.

1.Antonio PizzoniaBrazilJaguar-Cosworth1min 23.099secs
2. Giancarlo FisichellaItalyJordan-Ford1min 23.239secs
3. Mark WebberAustraliaJaguar-Cosworth1min 23.457secs
4.Ralph FirmanBritainJordan-Ford1min 23.885secs
5.Jarno TrulliItalyRenault-Renault1min 24.003secs
6.Fernando AlonsoSpainRenault-Renault1min 24.298secs
7.Allan McNishBritainRenault-Renault1min 25.264secs
8.Jos VerstappenHollandMinardi-Cosworth1min 25.905secs
9.Justin WilsonBritainMinardi-Cosworth1min 26.374secs
10.Matteo BobbiItalianMinardi-Cosworth1min 29.433secs