How the Formula 1 grid lines up for the 2021 season-opening Bahrain Grand Prix, with Red Bull’s Max Verstappen starting on pole position from Lewis Hamilton

2021 F1 Bahrain Grand Prix - STARTING GRID
1Max VerstappenNEDRed Bull Racing
2Lewis HamiltonGBRMercedes AMG Petronas Formula One Team
3Valtteri BottasFINMercedes AMG Petronas Formula One Team
4Charles LeclercMONScuderia Ferrari Mission Winnow
5Pierre GaslyFRAScuderia AlphaTauri Honda
6Daniel RicciardoAUSMcLaren F1 Team
7Lando NorrisGBRMcLaren F1 Team
8Carlos SainzESPScuderia Ferrari Mission Winnow
9Fernando AlonsoESPAlpine F1 Team
10Lance StrollCANAston Martin Cognizant Formula One Team
11Sergio PerezMEXRed Bull Racing
12Antonio GiovinazziITAAlfa Romeo Racing Orlen
13Yuki TsunodaJPNScuderia AlphaTauri Honda
14Kimi RaikkonenFINAlfa Romeo Racing Orlen
15George RussellGBRWilliams Racing
16Esteban OconFRAAlpine F1 Team
17Nicholas LatifiCANWilliams Racing
18Mick SchumacherGERUralkali Haas F1 Team
19Nikita MazepinRUSUralkali Haas F1 Team
20Sebastian Vettel *GERAston Martin Cognizant Formula One Team

*Five-place grid penalty for failing to respect double-waved yellow flags in qualifying


See also: How Red Bull turned the tables on Mercedes at F1 Bahrain GP

Verstappen starts from pole position after beating reigning world champion Hamilton by almost 0.4s in qualifying on Saturday.

Valtteri Bottas is third in the second Mercedes, with the top three all starting the race on Pirelli’s Medium compound tyre.

Ferrari’s Charles Leclerc goes from fourth, ahead of Pierre Gasly’s AlphaTauri and the McLaren duo of Daniel Ricciardo and Lando Norris, with the midfield runners set to engage in a close battle.

Carlos Sainz qualified eighth on his Ferrari debut, while returning two-time world champion Fernando Alonso took an impressive ninth for Alpine. Lance Stroll rounds out the top 10 starters for the rebranded Aston Martin squad.

Sebastian Vettel will start last on his Aston Martin race debut after picking up a five-place grid penalty for failing to respect double-waved yellow flags prior to his qualifying elimination in Q1.

The opening round of the 2021 F1 season gets underway at 6pm local time (4pm BST).