Porsche factory driver Neel Jani will make his Formula E debut this December in Hong Kong after signing for Faraday Future Dragon Racing alongside Jerome d’Ambrosio.

Jani, 33, has been part of Porsche’s LMP1 programme since its debut in 2014, and won both the 24 Hours of Le Mans and the FIA World Endurance Championship in 2016.

Porsche announced last month it would be closing its LMP1 programme at the end of this year, leaving Jani without a firm drive for 2018, but the Swiss racer has landed a seat with Dragon.

Loic Duval has been shuffled out in favour of Jani, who last raced in single-seaters back in 2011 in the Superleague Formula championship.

“I am thrilled to join the Faraday Future Dragon Racing team in the next season of the FIA Formula E Championship,” Jani said.

“I’ve recently tested the PENSKE EV-2 powered by Faraday Future and look forward to building my knowledge and experience with the team and competing in the acclaimed electric racing series.”

“We are thrilled to welcome Neel who will pilot our #6 entry in season four,” added team owner Jay Penske.

“As a team, we have set our target of winning races and competing for the championship in the coming season, and Neel was an essential component of that equation.

“When you look at the best drivers in the world, from both a racing and car development perspective, Neel is at the top of the list. He’s an excellent fit within our program.”

The new Formula E season kicks off in Hong Kong on December 2.