Red Bull Cheever Racing teammates Eddie Cheever Jr. and Tomas Scheckter continued their Indy Racing rampage through Texas Motor Speedway on Friday, each leading one of the two practices for the Boomtown 500.

1998 Indianapolis 500 winner Cheever led the final practice for the Boomtown 500 with the fastest lap of the day, 23.5704 seconds, 222.228 mph in the No. 51 Red Bull Cheever Racing Dallara-Infiniti. 2002 Indianapolis 500 Bank One co-Rookie of the Year Scheckter, who won the MBNA Pole for this event Thursday night, led the first practice at 23.7942, 220.138 in the No. 52 Red Bull Cheever Racing Dallara-Infiniti.

Either Cheever or Scheckter has led all five on-track sessions - four practices and MBNA Pole Qualifying - during this event. Scheckter earned the first pole of his career at 220.146, while Cheever will start on the outside of the front row after a qualifying run of 219.065. It's the first Infiniti-powered front row in IRL history.

Defending Indy Racing League champion Sam Hornish Jr. recorded the second-best lap of the day, 23.5957, 221.990, during the second session in the No. 4 Pennzoil Panther Dallara-Chevrolet.

"As always, it's busy as a hornet's nest out there in the last final session," Cheever said. "I spent most of the session trying to get away from the Panther car, but it wasn't possible. So we'll spend all day playing with each other."

Scheckter was third fastest overall at 221.600 in the second session.

Bombardier Rookie of the Year points leader Laurent Redon was fourth fastest overall at 221.490 in the No. 34 Mi-Jack Dallara-Infiniti while 2000 IRL Rookie of the Year Airton Dare rounded out the top five at 23.7386, 220.653 in the No. 14 Harrah's/A.J. Foyt Racing Dallara-Chevrolet owned by four-time Indianapolis 500 winner A.J. Foyt, a Houston resident.

Two-time defending event champion Scott Sharp was the 14th fastest driver overall at 23.9803, 218.429 in the No. 8 Kelley Racing Delphi Dallara-Chevrolet. He is trying to become the first Indy Racing League driver to win the same event three consecutive years.



Loading Comments...