IndyCar Series champion Scott Dixon has been honoured by the British Racing Drivers' Club as the recipient of the 2008 Bruce McLaren Trophy.

The trophy is awarded annually to the Commonwealth driver who has established the most meritorious performances in international motor racing, but Dixon is no stranger to the honour presented in memory of his New Zealand compatriot, having also received the trophy during his 2003 IndyCar Series championship season.

"I think it's fantastic and a big honour to win the Bruce McLaren Trophy," the Target Chip Ganassi driver said, "The BRDC is a very prestigious club, and to be noticed as the best Commonwealth international driver is something I will never forget. I also have to thank [fellow Kiwi and WSR team owner] Dick Bennetts for receiving the award on my behalf."

The trophy was originally presented to McLaren for finishing second in the 1965 Canadian Grand Prix at Mosport but, after the four-time GP winner passed away in a 1970 testing accident, his widow, Patty, presented it to the BRDC to give to the best Commonwealth driver of each year.



Loading Comments...