DragonSpeed has confirmed it will return to the NTT IndyCar Series in 2020 with an expanded six-race programme.

After establishing itself in sports car racing and entering both the LMP1 and LMP2 classes of the FIA World Endurance Championship in 2018, DragonSpeed moved into single seaters for 2019 with its inaugural IndyCar programme.

The team made three appearances through 2019, with Ben Hanley driving its #81 Chevrolet entry at St. Petersburg, Alabama and the Indianapolis 500, recording a best finish of P18 at the season opener.

After initially planning to run a 10-race programme through 2020, DragonSpeed has now confirmed it will feature in six races next season, including a return to the Indy 500.

In an announcement made on its Twitter account, DragonSpeed confirmed it would be entering a car to the races at St. Petersburg, Long Beach, the Indy 500, Texas, Mid-Ohio and Laguna Seca.

DragonSpeed will once again be powered by Chevrolet, and will confirm its driver and car sponsor “after the new year”, as per the announcement. Team owner Elton Julian has previously said the intention was to race Hanley for the programme once again.

The news also makes DragonSpeed the 11th team to confirm its intentions for IndyCar in 2020.

DragonSpeed remains present in sports car racing, with an entry to the LMP2 class set for the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship season opener at Daytona next month featuring Hanley, Henrik Hedman, Colin Braun and Jonathan Hoggard.

2020 NTT IndyCar Series Season - Drivers and Teams

AJ Foyt Enterprises: TBA, TBA
Andretti Autosports: Zach Veach, Alexander Rossi, Ryan Hunter-Reay, Colton Herta, Marco Andretti
Arrow McLaren SP: Patricio O'Ward, Oliver Askew, TBA (Indy 500 only)
Carlin: TBA, TBA
Chip Ganassi Racing: Marcus Ericsson, Scott Dixon, Felix Rosenqvist
Dale Coyne Racing: Alex Palou, TBA
DragonSpeed: TBA (six races)
Ed Carpenter Racing: Rinus VeeKay, Ed Carpenter (ovals only), Conor Daly (road/street courses plus Indy 500)
Meyer Shank Racing: Jack Harvey
Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing: Graham Rahal, Takuma Sato
Team Penske: Josef Newgarden, Will Power, Simon Pagenaud