Scott Dixon was denied a second appearance at the top of the practice timesheets at Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course, after Penske's Will Power posted a late effort of 1:05.4332s (124.231mph) which was a slender 0.0137s faster than the Ganassi.

Andretti Autosport's Ryan Hunter-Reay was himself less than seven tenths off Power's lap as he claimed third place in the final places at the end of Friday's two practice outings ahead of Dario Franchitti.

There was also an impressive showing from new boy Luca Filippi, who posted the fifth fastest time of the afternoon as he heads into his first race weekend with Barracuda Racing/Bryan Herta Autosport in the #98 car in place of Alex Tagliani. Filippi was just three tenths off Power's time.

The session saw two red flag stoppages, the first being for James Hinchcliffe running off the track at turn 9 just a few minutes into the session, and the second for Tony Kanaan straying off course and running into the tyre wall at turn 12 at the midway point. They weren't the only drivers to go off-roading, with Simon Pagenaud, Graham Rahal and even pacesetter Will Power also heading off the track at some stage during the session.

An engine issue prevented Dale Coyne Racing's Justin Wilson from turning more than a token number of trouble-shooting installation laps. Takuma Sato also ran only nine laps in the afternoon, after suffering from gearbox issues.

Practice 2 times

1. #12 Will Power Penske (C) 124.231mph 1:05.4332s (19 laps)
2. #9 Scott Dixon Ganassi (H) 124.205mph 1:05.4469s + 0.0137s (16 laps)
3. #1 Ryan Hunter-Reay Andretti (C) 124.100mph 1:05.5018s + 0.0686s (15 laps)
4. #10 Dario Franchitti Ganassi (H) 123.722mph 1:05.7019s + 0.2687s (20 laps)
5. #98 Luca Filippi BHA (H) 123.658mph 1:05.7364s + 0.3032s (20 laps)
6. #83 Charlie Kimball Ganassi (H) 123.596mph 1:05.7692s + 0.3360s (19 laps)
7. #25 Marco Andretti Andretti (C) 123.576mph 1:05.7796s + 0.3464s (16 laps)
8. #27 James Hinchcliffe Andretti (C) 123.549mph 1:05.7939s + 0.3607s (19 laps)
9. #77 Simon Pagenaud Schmidt (H) 123.416mph 1:05.8653s + 0.4321s (20 laps)
10. #78 Simona De Silvestro KV Racing (C) 123.404mph 1:05.8714s + 0.4382s (17 laps)
11. #11 Tony Kanaan KV Racing (C) 123.295mph 1:05.9295s + 0.4963s (20 laps)
12. #3 Helio Castroneves Penske (C) 123.272mph 1:05.9422s + 0.5090s (24 laps)
13. #7 Sebastien Bourdais Dragon (C) 123.122mph 1:06.0223s + 0.5891s (20 laps)
14. #67 Josef Newgarden SFHR (H) 122.999mph 1:06.0886s + 0.6554s (14 laps)
15. #55 Tristan Vautier Schmidt (H) 122.981mph 1:06.0979s + 0.6647s (20 laps)
16. #5 EJ Viso Andretti-HVM (C) 122.962mph 1:06.1083s + 0.6751s (18 laps)
17. #4 Oriol Servi? Panther (C) 122.916mph 1:06.1330s + 0.6998s (21 laps)
18. #15 Graham Rahal RLL (H) 122.710mph 1:06.2438s + 0.8106s (24 laps)
19. #18 James Davison Dale Coyne (H) 122.296mph 1:06.4680s + 1.0348s (23 laps)
20. #16 James Jakes RLL (H) 122.089mph 1:06.5809s + 1.1477s (18 laps)
21. #6 Sebastian Saavedra Dragon (C) 122.009mph 1:06.6246s + 1.1914s (15 laps)
22. #14 Takuma Sato AJ Foyt (H) 120.756mph 1:07.3160s + 1.8828s (9 laps)
23. #20 Ed Carpenter Ed Carpenter (C) 119.978mph 1:07.7526s + 2.3194s (19 laps)
24. #19 Justin Wilson Dale Coyne (H) 115.479mph 1:10.3923s + 4.9591s (4 laps)

Total laps: 430