Valentino Rossi takes pole position for the Dutch MotoGP round at Assen, ahead of Aleix Espargaro and Marc Marquez.

Rossi currently leads the championship by one point from team-mate Jorge Lorenzo, who qualified in eighth.

Assen is the only surviving event from the inaugural 1949 grand prix season, but this year's race will be the last to be held on a Saturday.

Championship leaders Valentino Rossi and Jorge Lorenzo have a new Yamaha chassis this weekend, while Honda's Marc Marquez has reverted to the 2014 Honda chassis.

Karel Abraham is absent due to a foot injury at Catalunya...

Qualifying 2:1.Valentino RossiITAMovistar Yamaha MotoGP (YZR-M1)1m 32.627s[Lap 8/9]313km/h (Top Speed)2.Aleix EspargaroESPTeam Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)1m 32.858s +0.231s[6/8]301km/h3.Marc MarquezESPRepsol Honda Team (RC213V)1m 32.886s +0.259s[8/8]315km/h4.Dani PedrosaESPRepsol Honda Team (RC213V)1m 32.987s +0.360s[8/9]314km/h5.Pol EspargaroESPMonster Yamaha Tech 3 (YZR-M1)1m 33.013s +0.386s[7/8]311km/h6.Andrea IannoneITADucati Team (Desmosedici GP15)1m 33.016s +0.389s[7/8]316km/h7.Cal CrutchlowGBRCWM LCR Honda (RC213V)1m 33.028s +0.401s[7/8]312km/h8.Jorge LorenzoESPMovistar Yamaha MotoGP (YZR-M1)1m 33.042s +0.415s[7/8]308km/h9.Maverick Vi?alesESPTeam Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)*1m 33.076s +0.449s[6/7]304km/h10.Andrea DoviziosoITADucati Team (Desmosedici GP15)1m 33.112s +0.485s[5/7]318km/h11.Danilo PetrucciITAOcto Pramac Racing (Desmosedici GP14.1)1m 33.126s +0.499s[5/7]309km/h12.Bradley SmithGBRMonster Yamaha Tech 3 (YZR-M1)1m 33.236s +0.609s[6/8]312km/h

Qualifying 1:13.Stefan BradlGERAthina Forward Racing (Forward Yamaha)1m 33.789s305km/h14.Yonny HernandezCOLOcto Pramac Racing (Desmosedici GP14.2)1m 33.875s305km/h15.Loris BazFRAAthina Forward Racing (Forward Yamaha)*1m 33.999s301km/h16.Scott ReddingGBREstrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS (RC213V)1m 34.071s303km/h17.Hector BarberaESPAvintia Racing (Desmosedici GP14 Open)1m 34.223s313km/h18.Mike Di MeglioFRAAvintia Racing (Desmosedici GP14 Open)1m 34.289s306km/h19.Eugene LavertyIRLAspar MotoGP Team (RC213V-RS)*1m 34.428s302km/h20.Jack MillerAUSCWM LCR Honda (RC213V-RS)*1m 34.645s303km/h21.Alvaro BautistaESPFactory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP)1m 34.736s303km/h22.Nicky HaydenUSAAspar MotoGP Team (RC213V-RS)1m 34.972s301km/h23.Alex De AngelisRSME-Motion IodaRacing (ART)1m 35.189s293km/h24.Marco MelandriITAFactory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP)1m 36.376s303km/h

Blue Name = Factory - Official MotoGP ECU hardware, unique manufacturer software.
20 litres of race fuel, 5 engine changes for the season. All engines identical throughout the year within the same team (development freeze).Black Name = Factory (with concessions) - Official MotoGP ECU hardware, unique manufacturer software.
Applicable to Factory entries by a manufacturer that did not achieve a dry win in 2013 (Ducati) or any new MotoGP manufacturers (Suzuki and Aprilia).
22 litres of race fuel for Ducati, 24 litres for Suzuki and Aprilia. Same 12 engine changes, softer rear tyre, no engine development freeze and extra testing opportunities as the Open Category. Fuel and soft tyre can change depending on top three results.Red Name = Open - Full official MotoGP ECU, hardware and software.
24 litres of race fuel, 12 engine changes, softer rear tyre, no engine development freeze and greater testing opportunities relative to Factory.* Rookie

Latest Updates: Follow @Crash_MotoGP
Fastest practice time:Valentino Rossi ITA Yamaha 1m 33.167s (FP3)

Official Assen MotoGP records:Best lap: Dani Pedrosa SPA Honda 1m 34.548s (2012)Fastest race lap:Dani Pedrosa SPA Honda 1m 34.548s (2012)