Lorenzo takes over at the top of the timesheets during Free Practice 2 for the German MotoGP at Sachsenring, while the likes of Rossi, Zarco and Pedrosa drop down the order and must imporve tomorrow morning to avoid taking part in Qualifying 1.

Franco Morbidelli, who fractured his left hand at Assen, withdrew after FP1 and is replaced by former MotoGP racer and present HRC test rider Stefan Bradl.

Mika Kallio, making his latest wild-card appearance for KTM, suffered a masssive accident early in the session. The Finn was conscious but taken away on a strecther.

CLICK HERE for live updates

  1. ^7 Jorge Lorenzo ESP Ducati Team (GP18) 1m 20.885s [Lap 19/22] 295km/h (Top Speed)
  2. ^4 Danilo Petrucci ITA Pramac Ducati (GP18) 1m 21.142s +0.257s [20/22] 291k
  3. ˅2 Andrea Iannone ITA Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR) 1m 21.204s +0.319s [21/21] 290k
  4. ^1 Andrea Dovizioso ITA Ducati Team (GP18) 1m 21.309s +0.424s [21/22] 295k
  5. ˅3 Marc Marquez ESP Repsol Honda (RC213V) 1m 21.349s +0.464s [3/27] 291k
  6. ˅2 Maverick Viñales ESP Movistar Yamaha (YZR-M1) 1m 21.384s +0.499s [22/22] 293k
  7. ^4 Takaaki Nakagami JPN LCR Honda (RC213V)* 1m 21.447s +0.562s [25/26] 286k
  8. ˅1 Jack Miller AUS Pramac Ducati (GP17) 1m 21.497s +0.612s [21/23] 292k
  9. ^10 Cal Crutchlow GBR LCR Honda (RC213V) 1m 21.540s +0.655s [22/23] 293k
  10. ^3 Alvaro Bautista ESP Angel Nieto Team (GP17) 1m 21.568s +0.683s [22/25] 290k
  11. ^1 Alex Rins ESP Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR) 1m 21.616s +0.731s [23/24] 289k
  12. ^6 Pol Espargaro ESP Red Bull KTM Factory (RC16) 1m 21.680s +0.795s [21/21] 292k
  13. ^2 Aleix Espargaro ESP Factory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP) 1m 21.718s +0.833s [17/25] 288k
  14. ^3 Bradley Smith GBR Red Bull KTM Factory (RC16) 1m 21.743s +0.858s [20/23] 289k
  15. ^1 Tito Rabat ESP Reale Avintia (GP17) 1m 21.777s +0.892s [17/23] 291k
  16. ^4 Hafizh Syahrin MAL Monster Yamaha Tech3 (YZR-M1)* 1m 21.777s +0.892s [19/22] 290k
  17. ˅14 Valentino Rossi ITA Movistar Yamaha (YZR-M1) 1m 21.784s +0.899s [22/23] 288k
  18. ˅8 Johann Zarco FRA Monster Yamaha Tech3 (YZR-M1) 1m 21.787s +0.902s [13/23] 290k
  19. ˅10 Scott Redding GBR Factory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP) 1m 22.003s +1.118s [19/22] 286k
  20. ˅6 Dani Pedrosa ESP Repsol Honda (RC213V) 1m 22.305s +1.420s [25/25] 292k
  21. NA Stefan Bradl GER EG 0,0 Marc VDS (RC213V) 1m 22.457s +1.572s [21/22] 287k
  22. ^1 Karel Abraham CZE Angel Nieto Team (GP16) 1m 22.555s +1.670s [22/22] 287k
  23. ˅2 Thomas Luthi SWI EG 0,0 Marc VDS (RC213V)* 1m 22.767s +1.882s [18/23] 285k
  24. = Mika Kallio FIN Red Bull KTM Factory (RC16) 1m 23.194s +2.309s [5/5] 288k
  25. = Xavier Simeon ESP Reale Avintia (GP16)* 1m 23.437s +2.552s [12/19] 287k

^X Rider is X positions higher than FP1.
= Rider is same position as FP1.
˅X Rider is X positions lower than FP1.

* Rookie

Fastest FP1 time:
Andrea Iannone ITA Yamaha 1m 21.442s(FP1)

Official Sachsenring MotoGP records:
Pole Position:
Marc Marquez SPA Honda 1m 20.336s (2015)
Fastest race lap:
Jonas Folger GER Yamaha 1m 21.442s (2017)

By Peter McLaren