Marquez wins the inaugural Thai MotoGP at Buriram after a last-turn showdown with Dovizioso, as Yamaha riders Vinales and Rossi complete a close lead group after a thrilling race at the front.

Jorge Lorenzo withdrew from the remainder of the weekend after injuring his left wrist during a huge Friday afternoon highside, which followed foot injuries at Aragon.

Michelin suggested that all riders use the hard rear tyre in the race due to the extreme conditions.

Tito Rabat is still recovering from leg fractures at Silverstone and was again replaced by WorldSBK rider Jordi Torres. Torres has the GP16 machines of Simeon, who is on Rabat's GP17s.

CLICK HERE for the new World Championship standings...

  1. Marc Marquez ESP Repsol Honda (RC213V) 39m 55.722s
  2. Andrea Dovizioso ITA Ducati Team (GP18) 39m 55.837s
  3. Maverick Viñales ESP Movistar Yamaha (YZR-M1) 39m 55.992s
  4. Valentino Rossi ITA Movistar Yamaha (YZR-M1) 39m 57.286s
  5. Johann Zarco FRA Monster Yamaha Tech3 (YZR-M1) 39m 58.469s
  6. Alex Rins ESP Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR) 39m 58.745s
  7. Cal Crutchlow GBR LCR Honda (RC213V) 40m 2.242s
  8. Alvaro Bautista ESP Angel Nieto Team (GP17) 40m 2.413s
  9. Danilo Petrucci ITA Pramac Ducati (GP18) 40m 5.666s
  10. Jack Miller AUS Pramac Ducati (GP17) 40m 6.799s
  11. Andrea Iannone ITA Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR) 40m 11.210s
  12. Hafizh Syahrin MAL Monster Yamaha Tech3 (YZR-M1)* 40m 13.413s
  13. Aleix Espargaro ESP Factory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP) 40m 17.135s
  14. Franco Morbidelli ITA EG 0,0 Marc VDS (RC213V)* 40m 18.524s
  15. Bradley Smith GBR Red Bull KTM Factory (RC16) 40m 19.350s
  16. Scott Redding GBR Factory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP) 40m 19.526s
  17. Karel Abraham CZE Angel Nieto Team (GP16) 40m 28.229s
  18. Xavier Simeon ESP Reale Avintia (GP17)* 40m 32.938s
  19. Jordi Torres SPA Reale Avintia (GP16) 40m 34.926s
  20. Thomas Luthi SWI EG 0,0 Marc VDS (RC213V)* 40m 35.143s
  21. Pol Espargaro ESP Red Bull KTM Factory (RC16) 40m 49.110s
  22. Takaaki Nakagami JPN LCR Honda (RC213V)* 40m 21.117s
    Dani Pedrosa ESP Repsol Honda (RC213V) DNF
By Peter McLaren