A private two-day MotoGP test began at Misano in Italy on Thursday morning.

All teams are present, plus some factory test riders.

Following a break for lunch there was a slow start to the afternoon session, which began at 2pm and runs until 6pm, with just two riders on track - but Marquez has set the fastest time of the day so far.

Rookie star Quartararo, riding for the first time since Sunday's big accident at Silverstone, had been quickest in the morning session with a 1m 33.539s.

Dovizioso - who also suffered a concussion in the same incident - is yet to start testing, while Oliveira called a halt after just two laps 'in order to recover 100% for the upcoming race' after being taken down by Zarco at Silverstone. Lorenzo will also be ending the test early to continue his recovery ahead of the GP weekend on September 13-15.

Suzuki rookie Mir is making his return from injury, while the range of technical developments are expected to include an updated version of Yamaha's 2020 prototype, first seen at Brno earlier this month.

Michelin has brought the same tyres as for the upcoming San Marino MotoGP, plus a new medium rear and new medium front tyre.

Misano MotoGP test times - Thursday (3pm)
Pos RiderNatTeamTime
1^4 Marc MarquezSPARepsol Honda (RC213V)1m 33.471s
2˅1 Fabio QuartararoFRAPetronas Yamaha (YZR-M1)*+0.068s
3˅1 Valentino RossiITAMonster Yamaha (YZR-M1)+0.092s
4˅1 Michele PirroITADucati Test Rider (GP19)+0.179s
5˅1 Maverick VinalesSPAMonster Yamaha (YZR-M1)+0.212s
6= Takaaki NakagamiJPNLCR Honda (RC213V)+0.336s
7= Franco MorbidelliITAPetronas Yamaha (YZR-M1)+0.412s
8= Alex RinsSPASuzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)+0.532s
9= Johann ZarcoFRARed Bull KTM Factory (RC16)+0.744s
10= Pol EspargaroSPARed Bull KTM Factory (RC16)+0.764s
11= Aleix EspargaroSPAFactory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP)+0.774s
12= Joan MirSPASuzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)*+0.779s
13= Danilo PetrucciITAMission Winnow Ducati (GP19)+0.803s
14= Andrea IannoneITAFactory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP)+0.912s
15= Jack MillerAUSPramac Ducati (Desmosedici)+0.946s
16= Cal CrutchlowGBRLCR Honda (RC213V)+1.155s
17= Karel AbrahamCZEReale Avintia (GP18)+1.225s
18= Francesco BagnaiaITAPramac Ducati (GP18)*+1.375s
19= Stefan BradlGERHonda Test Rider (RC213V)+1.507s
20NA Tito RabatSPAReale Avintia (GP18)+1.923s
21˅1 Hafizh SyahrinMALRed Bull KTM Tech3 (RC16)+2.017s
22˅1 Jorge LorenzoSPARepsol Honda (RC213V)+2.251s
23˅1 Miguel OliveiraPORRed Bull KTM Tech3 (RC16)*+6.321s


^X Rider is X positions higher than 1pm.
= Rider is same position as 1pm.
˅X Rider is X positions lower than 1pm.

Official Misano MotoGP records:
Best lap:
Jorge Lorenzo SPA Ducati 1m 31.629s (2018)
Fastest race lap:
Andrea Dovizioso ITA Ducati 1m 32.678s (2018)

By Peter McLaren