Quartararo has won the Portimao MotoGP round and taken the world championship lead after Rins, the only rider able to stay in touch with the Yamaha star, crashed with 7 laps to go.

Bagnaia and Mir completed the podium after Zarco, the previous world championship leader, crashed out of the group in the closing laps.

Eight-time world champion Marquez began his first MotoGP race since July from sixth position and was briefly up to third. But some contact with Mir saw the Repsol Honda rider drop to the lower end of the top ten, before retirements ahead moved him up to seventh.

Just ahead was Espargaro, who matched Aprilia's best ever MotoGP result with the RS-GP.

Rossi, Miller and Oliveira also crashed, while round one winner Vinales plummeted to the back of the field at the start.

Marquez had been sidelined for the past nine months due to complications with his broken right arm, which eventually required three operations.

Rookie star Jorge Martin, on pole position and the podium in Qatar, was ruled out of the remainder of the weekend after suffering a head contusion, plus right hand and ankle contusions during a big accident in the closing stages of FP3.

Takaaki Nakagami missed qualifying due to collarbone pain from a big Friday accident but was bravely back for the race.

CLICK HERE for live updates…

Portimao MotoGP, Portugal - Race Results
1Fabio QuartararoFRAMonster Yamaha (YZR-M1)41m 46.412s
2Francesco BagnaiaITADucati Team (GP21)+4.809s
3Joan MirSPASuzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)+4.948s
4Franco MorbidelliITAPetronas Yamaha (YZR-M1)+5.127s
5Brad BinderRSARed Bull KTM (RC16)+6.668s
6Aleix EspargaroSPAAprilia Gresini (RS-GP)+8.885s
7Marc MarquezSPARepsol Honda (RC213V)+13.208s
8Alex MarquezSPALCR Honda (RC213V)+17.992s
9Enea BastianiniITAAvintia Ducati (GP19)*+22.369s
10Takaaki NakagamiJPNLCR Honda (RC213V)+23.676s
11Maverick ViñalesSPAMonster Yamaha (YZR-M1)+23.761s
12Luca MariniITASky VR46 Avintia Ducati (GP19)*+29.660s
13Danilo PetrucciITAKTM Tech3 (RC16)+29.836s
14Lorenzo SavadoriITAAprilia Gresini (RS-GP)*+38.941s
15Iker LecuonaSPAKTM Tech3 (RC16)+50.642s
16Miguel OliveiraPORRed Bull KTM (RC16)+1 lap
 Johann ZarcoFRAPramac Ducati (GP21)DNF
 Alex RinsSPASuzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)DNF
 Valentino RossiITAPetronas Yamaha (YZR-M1)DNF
 Jack MillerAUSDucati Team (GP21)DNF
 Pol EspargaroSPARepsol Honda (RC213V)DNF

* Rookie.

By Peter McLaren


Loading Comments...