Following's Sunday's San Marino MotoGP, riders and teams returned to the Misano circuit for the third and final official in-season test of the 2021 season.

Unlike Tuesday's slow start, due to overnight rain, riders were down to start work straight away on Wednesday.

Session 1 has ended with Aleix Espargaro fastest for Aprilia, aheadof day one leader Francesco Bagnaia (Ducati) and Joan Mir (Suzuki).

Session 2 will start after lunch, at 2pm.

Marc Marquez debuted an all-new Honda prototype on day one, with team-mate Pol Espargaro due to try the bike on Wednesday. Yamaha also has a prototype available, while Suzuki is due to try a 2022 chassis today after engine work on day one. Ducati and Aprilia had new aerodynamics on Tuesday, with Dani Pedrosa shouldering KTM's day one development for next season.

2022 Tech3 KTM rookies Remy Gardner and Raul Fernandez, first and second in the Moto2 world championship for Red Bull KTM Ajo, are completing their first MotoGP laps today - closing the gap with almost each run on track.

Due to the special Covid technical freeze, which ends this year, most factories have been unable to change their engine design since the start of 2020.

Testing is split into two sessions. The first session ran from 9:30-1pm with the second session from 2-6pm...

2021 Misano MotoGP Test - Wednesday (1pm - End of Session 1)
1=Aleix EspargaroSPAAprilia Gresini (RS-GP)1m 31.599s33/45
2=Francesco BagnaiaITADucati Team (GP21)+0.065s23/39
3^3Joan MirSPASuzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)+0.108s34/35
4^7Jack MillerAUSDucati Team (GP21)+0.199s55/55
5^5Takaaki NakagamiJPNLCR Honda (RC213V)+0.288s35/44
6˅3Pol EspargaroSPARepsol Honda (RC213V)+0.327s15/52
7˅3Fabio QuartararoFRAMonster Yamaha (YZR-M1)+0.360s15/44
8˅3Maverick ViñalesSPAAprilia Gresini (RS-GP)+0.403s51/57
9˅2Miguel OliveiraPORRed Bull KTM (RC16)+0.537s7/47
10^8Luca MariniITASky VR46 Avintia Ducati (GP19)*+0.557s34/34
11˅3Brad BinderRSARed Bull KTM (RC16)+0.576s24/39
12˅3Marc MarquezSPARepsol Honda (RC213V)+0.647s23/33
13=Alex MarquezSPALCR Honda (RC213V)+0.679s39/46
14˅2Alex RinsSPASuzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)+0.772s17/45
15˅1Jorge MartinSPAPramac Ducati (GP21)*+0.813s22/22
16˅1Michele PirroITADucati Team (GP21)+0.892s12/32
17˅1Franco MorbidelliITAMonster Yamaha (YZR-M1)+1.036s3/10
18˅1Andrea DoviziosoITAPetronas Yamaha (YZR-M1)+1.231s26/47
19^1Valentino RossiITAPetronas Yamaha (YZR-M1)+1.243s21/30
20˅1Enea BastianiniITAAvintia Ducati (GP19)*+1.376s9/10
21=Dani PedrosaSPARed Bull KTM (RC16)+1.774s20/22
22^3Raul FernandezSPAKTM Tech3 (RC16)+2.389s34/34
23=Sylvain GuintoliFRASuzuki Test Rider (GSX-RR)+2.542s31/33
24˅2Lorenzo SavadoriITAAprilia Gresini (RS-GP)*+2.768s4/22
25˅1Remy GardnerAUSKTM Tech3 (RC16)+3.042s30/33

* Rookie
Fastest Day 1 Time:
Best lap:
Francesco Bagnaia ITA Ducati 1m 31.524s


Official Misano MotoGP records:
Best lap:
Maverick Vinales SPA Yamaha 1m 31.007s (2020)
Fastest race lap:
Enea Bastianini ITA Ducati 1m 32.242s(2021)

By Peter McLaren