Rusty Harrison cruised through to win the South Australian state championship last night. He roared to an untroubled victory in the final from Kevin Doolan, Rory Schlein and Brett Woodifield.

Harrison, who rides for Workington in the Premier League, was the class act and a worthy victor. The meeting format gave each rider five rides with the four highest scorers meeting in a grand final and the youngster had no difficulty sealing his place.

Eventual runner-up Doolan came back third in his opener then reeled off four straight heat wins to join Harrison in the final. But their was a real battle going on behind for the other two spots as Schlein, Woodifield, Cameron Woodward and Ford Keane could not be split after each scoring eleven points forcing a sudden death run-off between the four with the first and second going through to meet Harrison and Schlein.

Woodifield won the run-off without being in serious danger from Schlein, who came under considerable pressure from Woodward late on with Keane never threatening.

Harrison then shot away for an all-the-way win in the final followed home by Doolan with an ever trying Schlein third. All three now go forward to the Australian Final on January 11th as Woodward misses out.

South Australian State championship:

1. Rusty Harrison
2. Kevin Doolan
3. Rory Schlein
4. Cameron Woodward