Porsche has confirmed it will defend its GTE-Pro class title at the 24 Hours of Le Mans with a four-car factory effort in 2019.

Porsche took a dominant one-two finish in class at the Circuit de la Sarthe earlier this year, led by Michael Christensen, Kevin Estre and Laurens Vanthoor in the #92 Porsche 911 RSR that was decked out in the classic 'pink pig' livery for the event.

Porsche confirmed at its Night of Champions event in Stuttgart that it will maintain its contingent of four Porsche 911 RSR entries for Le Mans in 2019, with full-season FIA World Endurance Championship drivers Christensen and Estre set to be joined by Vanthoor once again for the race.

The #91 Porsche will also feature an unchanged line-up of Richard Lietz, Gianmaria Bruni and Frederic Makowiecki, as will the #93 Porsche comprising Patrick Pilet and 2017 Le Mans victors Earl Bamber and Nick Tandy.

Sven Muller is the only driver retained in the #94 Porsche from Le Mans this year. He will be joined by Porsche juniors Mathieu Jaminet and Dennis Olsen, who replace Romain Dumas and Timo Bernhard.



It was also confirmed on Saturday that Fritz Enzinger will assume the overall head of motorsport role at Porsche from January 1, overseeing its Formula E and GT factory racing efforts.

Enzinger assumes the role previously filled by Andres Seidl, who suddenly exited Porsche earlier this year ahead of an anticipated move to a Formula 1 team.

Porsche will make its Formula E debut in late 2019, joining the grid for the electric championship's sixth season.