PG Andersson holds the early lead on Rally Sweden after setting the quickest time on the opening run through the Karlstad Super Special stage.

The Swede, who only secured his entry into the event thanks to a fundraising drive by fans, came through the 1.90km stage with a time of 1min 39.7secs, which was good enough to beat factory Ford driver Jari-Matti Latvala to the stage win by 0.6secs.

"I didn't take it too quickly and wasn't sure if I was going to be fast enough but obviously it was," Andersson said. "It was good and I hope it continues like this."

Petter Solberg was third fastest in the first of the Citroens while Mikko Hirvonen rounded out the top four ahead of Sebastien Loeb and Mads Ostberg.

Sebastien Ogier elected to take it easy on the stage and finished seven quickest as a result, with PWRC pairing Anders Grondal and Patrik Flodin edging out Kimi Raikkonen's Citroen to complete the top ten.

Outside the top ten, FERM Powertools driver Denis Kuipers was 13th, with Matthew Wilson and Ken Block in 17th and 19th respectively.

Henning Solberg, who was quickest through Shakedown, lies down in 32nd place after losing ten seconds when he clipped a snow bank.

Six stages will make up the first day proper of the event on Friday.

Rally Sweden: Overall standings after Stage 1 (Top 10):

1. PG AnderssonFord Fiesta RS WRC01mins 39.7secs A1
2. Jari-Matti LatvalaFord Abu Dhabi WRT Fiesta RS WRC+00mins 00.6secs M
3. Petter SolbergPSWRT Citroen DS3 WRC+00mins 00.9secs A1
4. Mikko HirvonenFord Abu Dhabi WRT Fiesta RS WRC+00mins 01.0secs M
5. Sebastien LoebCitroen Total WRT DS3 WRC+00mins 01.1secs M
6. Mads OstbergM-Sport Stobart Ford Fiesta RS WRC +00mins 01.6secs M
7. Sebastien OgierCitroen Total WRT DS3 WRC+00mins 02.3secs M
8. Anders GrondalSubaru Impreza STi+00mins 05.9secs P
9. Patrik FlodinSubaru Impreza STi+00mins 06.0secs P
10. Kimi RaikkonenICE 1 Racing Citroen DS3 WRC+00mins 06.1secs M


13. Denis KuipersFERM Powertools Ford Fiesta RS WRC+00mins 06.3secs M
17. Matthew WilsonM-Sport Stobart Ford Fiesta RS WRC+00mins 07.6secs A1
19. Ken BlockMonster WRT Ford Fiesta RS WRC+00mins 08.9secs M
32. Henning SolbergM-Sport Stobart Ford Fiesta RS WRC+00mins 14.6secs M

PWRC standings after Stage 1 (Top 3):

1. Anders GrondalSubaru Impreza STi01mins 45.6secs P
2. Patrik FlodinSubaru Impreza STi +00mins 00.1secs P
3. Yuriy ProtasovMitsubishi Lancer Evo X +00mins 01.1secs P



Loading Comments...