The Royal Automobile Club has revealed the three nominations for the 2017 Torrens Trophy with Jonathan Rea, Sam Sunderland and Leon Haslam receiving nods.

The Torrens Trophy was picked up by Cal Crutchlow for his 2016 achievements by becoming the first British winner of a premier class MotoGP race in 35 years. The award is handed out to individuals or organisations who have produced an outstanding contribution to motorcycling in Britain.

Triple World Superbike champion Jonathan Rea has been nominated after another dominant season in the series while becoming the first rider to claim three consecutive titles plus setting a new points scored record.

Sam Sunderland has also been nominated after becoming the first British winner of the Dakar Rally racing his KTM over hundreds of gruelling miles across Paraguay, Bolivia and Argentina.

Finally, Leon Haslam completes the shortlist for his efforts in 2017 which saw him narrowly miss out on the MCE British Superbike title but demonstrated true sportsmanship by congratulating Shane Byrne on his championship victory despite a broken ankle after crashing out at 170mph due to a technical fault.

The Torrens Trophy nomination committee consists of Chairman and ex-bike racer Barrie Baxter, RAC members Ben Cussons and Richard Bourne, motorcycle journalist Mat Oxley, former racer and commentator Steve Parrish and new to the committee Maria Costello MBE who has held the record for being the fastest woman to lap the Isle of Man TT course.

Previous winners of the award include James Toseland (2008), Tom Sykes (2013), Shane Byrne (2014), Ian Hutchinson (2015) and Crutchlow who picked up the trophy last year.

The winner of the Torrens Trophy will be announced in January at an awards ceremony presented at the RAC’s Pall Mall clubhouse.



Loading Comments...