Here's a look at which riders will be riding where in 2022, along with what WorldSBK seats are left to be filled. 


2021 World Champions Yamaha will remain as is for next season as Toprak Razgatlioglu looks to defend his maiden world title. 

The Turkish star became the first rider to beat Jonathan Rea in over six seasons in Mandalika, while rookie team-mate Andrea Locatelli will continue alongside Razgatlioglu at Pata Yamaha.

Locatelli finished an incredible fourth in the championship after getting the better of Michael Rinaldi during the final race.

Things also remain the same at GRT Yamaha as Garrett Gerloff was retained early on in the campaign, despite a very tough second year in WorldSBK, while Kohta Nozane will be expected to make significant steps next year. 

Gil Motor Sport is the sole Yamaha outfit yet to confirm it’s one-rider line-up, however, it’s a near certainty that Christophe Ponsson will return aboard the R1.


Out of the five manufacturers currently in WorldSBK, Kawasaki are just the second alongside Yamaha to keep the same factory line-up. 

Jonathan Rea will of course be looking to regain the championship after relinquishing the #1 plate to Razgatlioglu. 

On the other side of the garage, Alex Lowes continues in what could be a big year for the Brit. Injuries plagued much of Lowes’ 2021 season as he was unable to complete a full weekend in any of the last four rounds. 

Lucas Mahias, who missed the final five rounds due to a scaphoid injury, will also continue at Puccetti Kawasaki as the team remains a one-rider line-up.

Where change could take place for Kawasaki is at OUTDO Team Pedercini Racing and Orelac Racing. 

Loris Cresson has been confirmed in one of the two Pedercini Kawasaki seats, however, the second ride is one of the most intriguing that’s left TBA (To be announced) after the team had six different riders compete on that bike throughout 2021. 

At Orelac Racing VerdNatura, Isaac Vinales is expected to remain although no confirmation has come as of yet. 

Ducati Ducati are the first full factory team to change it’s rider line-up as Alvaro Bautista replaces the departing Scott Redding. 

In fact, Bautista has already tested the Panigale V4 R courtesy of a two-day test in Jerez last week. 

Alongside the Spaniard will be Michael Rinaldi who endured a tough first season in the factory team.

Inconsistency was a big problem for the Italian who had nine finishes outside the top ten - five more than Redding, while Rinaldi also finished 219 points behind his more experienced team-mate. 

Axel Bassani has been confirmed to return with MOTOCROSA Ducati for next season following an impressive rookie campaign. 

Ducati will have an all-new look in regards to their final two teams as WorldSSP riders Philipp Oettl and Luca Bernardi make the step-up with GoEleven and Barni Racing respectively. 


BMW’s third season back in WorldSBK will see them led by Redding who replaces Tom Sykes.

Redding was a consistent championship contender throughout the 2021 season and will bring a vast amount of winning experience to a team and manufacturer that desperately needs it. 

Michael Van Der Mark remains in the factory team for what will be his second year with the German outfit.

It’s all change at Bonovo Racing as Jonas Folger has left the fold, while the team has also expanded from one to two riders - those being Eugene Laverty and Loris Baz who makes a return after one season in MotoAmerica. 


Team HRC are the lone team to have an all-new factory line-up as former Grand Prix riders Iker Lecuona and Xavi Vierge have made the switch to WorldSBK. 

Lecuona comes over from MotoGP after having spent two years with Tech 3 KTM, while Vierge moves from Moto2 where he spent the last two seasons with Petronas Sprinta.

The final team to be fully confirmed for next year is MIE Honda, who like Bonovo have expanded from one rider to two. 

Argentine rider Leandro Mercado will remain aboard a CBR1000RR-R for the third consecutive year, while another former MotoGP and Moto2 rider in the shape of Hafizh Syahrin joins him at Honda. 

Pata Yamaha with Brixx WorldSBK: Toprak Razgatlioglu/Andrea Locatelli

Kawasaki Racing Team: Jonathan Rea/Alex Lowes Ducati: Alvaro Bautista/Michael Rinaldi

BMW Motorrad WorldSBK Team: Scott Redding/Michael Van Der Mark

Team HRC: Iker Lecuona/Xavi Vierge

GRT Yamaha: Garrett Gerloff/Kohta Nozane

MOTOCORSA Ducati Racing Team: Axel Bassani

Team GoEleven: Philipp Oettl

Kawasaki Puccetti Racing: Lucas Mahias

Barni Racing Ducati: Luca Bernardi

Bonovo action BMW Racing Team: Loris Baz/Eugene Laverty

MIE Honda Racing: Leandro Mercado/Hafizh Syahrin

OUTDO TPR Pedercini Racing Kawasaki: Loris Cresson/TBA

Orelac Racing VerdNatura: TBA

Gil Motor Sport Yamaha: TBA