12 time race winner at Portimao, Jonathan Rea, finishes the opening World Superbike practice fastest at the Algarve International Circuit. Toprak Razgatlioglu P4 after losing his and the session's quickest lap due to setting it under yellow flags. 

After completing just three laps at the beginning of FP1, Rea immediately returned to pit lane, while championship leader Razgatlioglu posted the first sub 1m 42s lap to go quickest from Rea. Razgatlioglu soon followed the Kawasaki rider in heading back to his garage. 

Loris Baz, who is once again replacing the injured Chaz Davies went second quickest early on as he continues to impress on his WorldSBK return. 

Scott Redding then made it two Ducati’s inside the top three as he split Razgatlioglu and Baz. 

With 20 minutes gone, Rea improved to go fastest overall - four tenths better than Razgatlioglu, while team-mate Alex Lowes went P2 - two tenths back. 

Samuele Cavalieri became the first rider to crash, however, the Italian was able to quickly remount his Barni Racing Ducati machine. Leon Haslam then went down just a few minutes later at turn eight which completely destroyed his CBR1000RR-R. 

Razgatlioglu regained top spot from Rea by just half a tenth with 19 minutes to go, but the Yamaha rider then lost that time due keeping up his speed at turn eight when yellow flags were being waved- meaning Rea went back to P1 and Razgatlioglu P3. 

Eugene Laverty became the second rider to fall at turn eight in what was a similar crash to Haslam. 

Garrett Gerloff moved into second spot late on after setting an identical lap time on back-to-back laps - just +0.009s off of Rea, before the Kawasaki man improved by a slender margin of -0.012s. Like Razgatlioglu, Gerloff lost his best time but was able to improve again and ultimately keep P2. 

World Superbike Portimao, Portugal - Free Practice Results (1)
1Jonathan ReaGBRKawasaki Racing Team1:41.542s
2Garrett GerloffUSAGRT Yamaha+0.141s
3Alex LowesGBRKawasaki Racing Team+0.161s
4Toprak RazgatliogluTURPATA Yamaha+0.207s
5Loris BazFRAGoEleven Ducati+0.218s
6Scott ReddingGBRAruba.It Ducati+0.477s
7Alvaro BautistaSPATeam HRC+0.704s
8Andrea LocatelliITAPATA Yamaha+0.771s
9Michael Van Der MarkNEDMotorrad BMW WorldSBK Team+0.803s
10Axel BassaniITAMotocorsa Ducati+1.103s
11Leandro MercadoARGMIE Honda Racing+1.311s
12Isaac VinalesSPAOrelac Racing Kawasaki+1.378s
13Michael RinaldiITAAruba.It Ducati+1.437s
14Leon HaslamGBRTeam HRC+1.449s
15Eugene LavertyIRLMotorrad BMW WorldSBK Team+1.913s
16Christophe PonssonFRAGil Yamaha+2.324s
17Jonas FolgerGERBenovo BMW+2.666s
18Kohta NozaneJPNGRT Yamaha+2.841s
19Tito RabatITAKawasaki Puccetti+2.845s
20Gabrielle RuiuITAB-Max Racing Team+3.139s
21Samuele CavalieriSPABarni Ducati+3.292s
22Loris CressonBELPedercini Kawasaki+3.467s
23Lachlan EpisAUSPedercini Kawasaki+4.668s