A grid of 24 riders will line up for the 2015 World Supersport Championship and include the return of former champions Yakhnich Motorsport.

The Russian team was a title winner in 2013 with Sam Lowes and Yamaha machinery, but an ill-fated factory collaboration with MV Agusta ended just part way through the 2014 season following financial issues.

However, the team - which had originally drawn up plans to return to the Superbike class - has appeared on the provisional 2015 World Supersport entry list with a pair of Honda CBR600RRs. Vladimir Leonov is lined up to ride on the bikes, with the second still listed as TBA.

Elsewhere, reigning champions PATA Honda will entrust the defence of its crown to British rookie Kyle Smith, while 2014 title contenders MV Agusta stick with Jules Cluzel and sign Lorenzo Zanetti. Three-time champion Kenan Sofuoglu, meanwhile, will attempt to recover his form on the factory-assisted Puccetti Kawasaki ZX-6R.

Other notable entries include Lucas Mahias, whose headline-grabbing wild-card rides at the end of 2014 have earned him a spot on the Intermoto Kawasaki alongside PJ Jacobsen, while PTR will enter four bikes under the CIA Landloards Honda banner for Sheridan Morais, Martin Cardenas, Riccardo Russo and British racer Kieran Clarke.

A podium winner in 2014, Ratthapark Wilairot is also included on the entry list under the CORE Motorsport Thailand banner ahead of the series' first foray into the country in March.

2015 Provisional WSS Entry List

5. Marco FaccaniITA Kawasaki Puccetti Racing ZX-6R
6. Dominic SchmitterSUI Team Go Eleven Kawasaki ZX-6R
9. Ratthapark WilairotTHA CORE Motorsport Thailand Honda CBR600RR
10. Nacho CaleroESP CATBIKE/exit Kawasaki ZX-6R
11. Christian GamarinoITA Team Go Eleven Kawasaki ZX-6R
14. Lucas MahiasFRA Kawasaki Intermoto Ponyexpres ZX-6R
16. Jules CluzelFRA MV Agusta Reparto Corse F3 675
19. Kevin WahrGER SMS Honda CBR600RR
24. Marcos RamirezESP CATBIKE/exit Kawasaki ZX-6R
25. Alex BaldoliniITA Race Department ATK#25 MV Agusta F3 675
32. Sheridan MoraisRSA CIA Landlords Insurance Honda CBR600RR
36. Martin CardenasCOL CIA Landlords Insurance Honda CBR600RR
44. Roberto RolfoITA Lorini Honda CBR600RR
54. Kenan SofuogluTUR Kawasaki Puccetti Racing ZX-6R
61. Fabio MenghiITA VFT Yamaha YZF R6
65. Vladimir LeonovRUS Moscow Region Yakhnich Honda CBR600RR
68. Scott GlennAUS AARK Honda CBR600RR
74. Kieran ClarkeGBR CIA Landlords Insurance Honda CBR600RR
81. Alessandro NoccoITA Lorini Honda CBR600RR
84. Riccardo RussoITA CIA Landlords Insurance Honda CBR600RR
87. Lorenzo ZanettiITA MV Agusta Reparto Corse F3 675
99. PJ JacobsenUSA Kawasaki Intermoto Ponyexpres ZX-6R
111. Kyle SmithGBR PATA Honda CBR600RR

TBAMoscow Region Yakhnich Honda CBR600RR

* MV Agusta F3 675 in the process of homologation



Loading Comments...