Steve Hislop extended his advantage over British Superbike Championship rival John Reynolds to 20 points as he completed his third winning double of the campaign in the seventh round at Oulton Park.

The MonsterMob Ducati rider, who had claimed his fourth Dunlop Superpole start despite a rare tumble in a wet session, was out-started in the opening 17-lap race, with Reynolds running out front as the Safety Car intervened as race officials dealt with two opening lap two bike tangles.

James Haydon led briefly after the Safety Car was withdrawn, but by the sixth lap, Hislop was ahead with Reynolds snapping at his exhausts in a high speed duel which saw the Red Bull Ducati rider smash the lap record, at 108.23mph as he closed in, grabbing the lead briefly at Lodge Corner on the final lap, before Hislop bit back to grab the victory by 0.223 seconds.

Hislop set the pace in the second race, reduced to 15 laps, as race officials pegged back time, lengthy stoppages in two supporting races had delayed the action. The 39-year-old Isle of Man based Scot, again had Reynolds close behind and when the leader glanced over his shoulder to check on his rival, he saw him on the charge and taking a seventh lap lead.

Reynolds was trying everything he knew to hold Hislop at bay, but the series leader timed his move to perfection, nipping ahead at Clay Hill on the final lap, to take his eighth victory of the season by 0.156 seconds.

Dean Ellison took his first Privateer victory in race one, while Shane Byrne, despite suffering a suspected broken wrist, claimed a Privateer win in the second race. Paul Young took victory in the British Supersport action, ahead of Karl Harris. Dave Jeffries took his season-first victory in the Superstock race, while Jon Kirkham enjoyed his first win of the season in the Junior British Superstock class. Darren Barton won the British 250cc Championship race with Casey Stoner again dominating the 125cc race to victory.

Championship standings after round seven:

1. Steve HISLOP 303
2. John REYNOLDS 283
3. James HAYDON 184
4. Sean EMMETT 141
5. Michael RUTTER 131
6. Paul BROWN 127
7. John CRAWFORD 126
8. Shane BYRNE 123
9. Jamie ROBINSON 80
10. Lee JACKSON 76
11. Steve PLATER 60
12. Dave WOOD 51
13. Nigel NOTTINGHAM 50
14. Gordon BLACKLEY 41
15. Dean ELLISON 39
16. Jason DAVIS 36
17. Paul JONES 33
18. Mark BURR 21
19. Steve MARKS 15
20. Francis WILLIAMSON 13
21. Dave REDGATE 10
22. Jamie MORLEY 9
23. Peter BERWICK 5
24. Paul A JONES 2
25. Brett SAMPSON 1