TAS Suzuki's Tom Sykes has taken a spectacular provisional pole at Cadwell Park in preparation for the tenth round of the British Supersport championship at the undulating Lincolnshire circuit.

His time was a breath taking 1min 29.130secs to bring him home in front of current championship leader Cal Crutchlow on the Northpoint Ekerold Honda. Eugene Laverty was third fastest on the Red Bull Honda with defending supersport champion, Leon Camier in fourth place.

It was an eventful session with five fallers one of which brought out the red flags. Gary Johnson was the first off, crashing at Charlies. Ian Hutchinson parted company with his MSS Discovery Kawasaki at Mansfield, but that didn't stop him finishing the session in sixth.

Ben Wylie crashed mid session and his fall coincided with the red flags coming out to allow the air ambulance in. The ambulance was required to take a rider who crashed during Supertock to hospital. Once the session restarted the crashing continued with Matt Layt falling at Mansfield and Guy Martin going off at Coppice.

BSS qualifying results (1) - Cadwell:

1. Tom Sykes
2. Cal Crutchlow
3. Eugene Laverty
4. Leon Camier
5. Kieran Murphy
6. Ian Hutchinson
7. Dennis Hobbs
8. Steven Neate
9. Joe Dickinson
10. Jay Vincent