Ryuichi Kiyonari held off the constant attentions of Gregorio Lavilla to take victory in the Bennetts British Superbike championship at Oulton Park.

Kiyonari took the win whilst his HM Plant Honda team-mate Michael Rutter floundered down the order to finish in tenth place after a poor start. Lavilla on his Airwaves Ducati hadn't been the fastest off the line but he was soon battling for the podium spots and led the race for a handful of laps before Kiyonari retook the lead.

John Reynolds took a happy third place after battling well and showing good pace. He displaced a fast starting Glen Richards for the position, the Hawk Kawasaki rider losing pace as the race wore on, he also lost fourth position on the final lap to Leon Haslam.

Top ten
1. Ryuichi Kiyonari
2. Gregorio Lavilla
3. John Reynolds
4. Leon Haslam
5. Glen Richards
6. James Haydon
7. Tommy Hill
8. Karl Harris
9. Gary Mason
10. Michael Rutter