Full BSB race two results at Cadwell Park

Josh Brookes has fought back from race one disappointment to take victory in the Cadwell Park closing encounter having seen off a challenge from Tommy Bridewell and claims the Bennetts British Superbike championship lead from Scott Redding.

The Be Wiser Ducati rider slotted into second place in the opening lap scraps behind pole-sitter Bridewell and kept his composure as the Oxford Racing Ducati looked to sprint ahead early on.

But having reeled in Bridewell at mid-race distance, Brookes made his move up the inside at Park corner on Lap 11.

Despite the front two battling until the chequered flag it was the 2015 BSB champion who claimed victory and deny Bridewell his first win in four years.

Race one winner Danny Buchan struggled to replicate the pace of the leading pair meaning he had to settle for third place, comfortably clear of Christian Iddon in fourth for Tyco BMW and Peter Hickman in fifth for Smiths Racing BMW.

Redding saw his race ended on the second lap in a clash with Honda’s Andrew Irwin, leading to the former MotoGP rider angrily confronting his rival trackside after going down at Park corner.

On board replays showed Irwin clattering into Redding charging up the inside of the Be Wiser Ducati rider of the corner which sent both riders off into the grass and a fierce remonstration from Redding.

With a non-score in race two, Redding has slipped behind Brookes in terms of the overall BSB championship by 12 points, while the Australian rider also leads on Podium Points with two more than his Be Wiser Ducati team-mate with one round to go until the title fight begins.

Redding’s early exit saw a promotion in the order for Glenn Irwin who claimed sixth place for Tyco BMW ahead of Ryan Vickers on the RAF Regular & Reserves Kawasaki.

Luke Stapleford grabbed an encouraging eighth place for Buildbase Suzuki as Honda’s Xavi Fores and OMG Suzuki stand-in Billy McConnell, replacing the injured Luke Mossey, rounded out the top 10.

Hector Barbera grabbed 11th place on his Cadwell Park debut for Quattro Plant Kawasaki ahead of the battling Tarran Mackenzie, just two weeks on from breaking his wrist at Thruxton, with 12th place for McAMS Yamaha.

Dean Harrison grabbed 13th place for Silicone Engineering Kawasaki, as Jason O’Halloran (McAMS Yamaha) and Dan Linfoot (Santander Salt Yamaha) both recovered from early off-track moments to take the final point positions.

Josh Elliott was relegated to 16th place for a jump start, the second of the weekend for OMG Suzuki, while Bradley Ray completed a nightmare race day by crashing on the final lap fighting for points having started in last place following his mechanically-triggered DNS in the opener.



Loading Comments...